Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Taylor Picked In Second Round Of NBA Draft

Release: 06/26/2008
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa- Former Iowa State basketball player Mike Taylor was selected in the second round of the 2008 NBA Draft Thursday night. A native of Milwaukee, Wis., Taylor was drafted by the Portland Trailblazers as the 55th pick in the entire draft. He was later traded to the Los Angeles Clippers.

Taylor played one season for Iowa State (2006-07), earning honorable mention all-Big 12 honors after averaging 16.0 points and drilling 77 3-pointers. His single-season 3-pointers made total ranks sixth-best in school history. Taylor played last season with the Idaho Stampede in the NBDL, averaging 14.5 ppg. The Stampede won the D-League title in 2008 thanks to Taylor’s heroics. Taylor scored 27 points and drained 7-of-10 shots from downtown in the championship-clinching game.

“It was really exciting to hear my name get called,” Taylor said. “Without my experience at Iowa State, I would not be where I am today. I will never forget ‘Hilton Magic’ and everything I learned from Coach McDermott and the staff. I really worked hard on my game this past season in the NBDL. This is a dream come true.”

Taylor is the 33rd former Cyclone to be drafted in the NBA and the first since Will Blalock was selected as the final pick of the 2006 NBA Draft. Taylor was one of 10 former Big 12 players drafted.

1948 Ray Wehde, Boston Celtics
1953 Delmar Diercks, New York Knicks
1957 Gary Thompson, Minneapolis Lakers (5th/35th)
1958 Don Medsker, Cincinnati Royals (12th/79th)
1961 Henry Whitney, Syracuse Nationals (4th/37th)
1962 Vince Brewer, Syracuse Nationals (9th/74th)
1963 Marv Straw, St. Louis Hawks (11th/77th)
1968 Zaid Abdul-Aziz, Cincinnati Royals (1st/5th)
1968 John McGonigle, Chicago Bulls (11th/137th)
1970 Bill Cain, Portland Trailblazers (3rd/42nd)
1973 Martinez Denmon, Boston Celtics (3rd/52nd)   
1973 Clint Harris, Phoenix Suns (5th/77th)
1973 Tom O’Connor, Cleveland Cavaliers (16th/201st)
1974 Robert Wilson, Houston Rockets (3rd/41st)
1976 Hercle Ivy, Houston Rockets (4th/61st)
1976 Art Johnson, New Orleans Jazz (10th/165th)
1979 Andrew Parker, Washington Bullets (3rd/46th)
1980 Dean Uthoff, San Antonio Spurs (6th/129th)
1982 Robert Estes, Kansas City Kings (10th/210th)
1985 Barry Stevens, Denver Nuggets (2nd/43rd)
1986 Jeff Hornacek, Phoenix Suns (2nd/46th)
1987 Tom Schafer, Denver Nuggets (3rd/54th)
1987 Sam Hill, Dallas Mavericks (5th/112th)
1988 Jeff Grayer, Milwaukee Bucks (1st/13th)
1991 Victor Alexander, Golden State Warriors (1st/17th)
1995 Loren Meyer, Dallas Mavericks (1st/24th)
1995 Fred Hoiberg, Indiana Pacers (2nd/52nd)
1997 Kelvin Cato, Dallas Mavericks (1st/15th)
2000 Marcus Fizer, Chicago Bulls (1st/4th)
2001 Jamaal Tinsley, Vancouver Grizzlies (1st/27th)
2004 Jackson Vroman, Chicago Bulls (2nd/31st)
2006 Will Blalock, Detroit Pistons (2nd/60th)
2008 Mike Taylor, Portland Trailblazers (2nd/55th)
(first number indicates round selected/second number indicates pick)

More on Men's Basketball
The Team
Head coach Steve Prohm
Coaching Staff | Roster | Big 12 Standings
Weekly Release

Big 12 On Television FAQ

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Hilton Coliseum
Sukup Basketball Practice Facility

Historical Information
Archives | Encyclopedia
Records | Results | Tradition

Inside Iowa State
Camps | Cyclone Alley | For Recruits

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song