Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Johnson-Lynch Named Big 12 Coach of the Year

Release: 11/30/2009
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa Coming off its best regular season in school history, the Iowa State volleyball team earned a record seven postseason honors from the Big 12. The league office announced today that head coach Christy Johnson-Lynch has been named Big 12 Coach of the Year and Ashley Mass was named the libero of the year for the second season in a row. Mass was a unanimous selection by the league’s coaches as libero.

Mass was also tabbed a First-Team All-Big 12, becoming the first libero in conference history to be named to the first team. The junior was a unanimous selection to the first team and was joined by teammates Kaylee Manns and Victoria Henson, who received the honor for the second time in their careers. Sophomore Rachel Hockaday picked up honorable mention honors and Jamie Straube was a unanimous selection to the all-freshman team.

Johnson-Lynch, who is in her fifth year as head coach of the Cyclones, led ISU to a 25-4 overall record and a second-place finish in the Big 12, the best finish in school history. She set school records for wins in a season (25) and Big 12 victories (17). Iowa State also became the first team since 2003 to defeat both Texas and Nebraska in the same season. ISU’s win over Nebraska was the first in school history, snapping a skid of 76 matches to the Huskers.

Johnson-Lynch has also guided Iowa State to its best national ranking (No. 7) in the program’s history.

For the second year in a row, Mass compiled the most digs in the Big 12. She tallied 377 this season in conference play, for an average of 5.63 per contest for the Cyclones. Mass broke both the three- and five-set dig records against Baylor after notching 33 (Sept. 23) and 42 (Oct. 28) in those matches. The Muskego, Wis., native became the first player in Big 12 history to record 40 or more digs in a match and broke a 14-year old school record with her performance. She was honored as the Defensive Player of the Week on six occasions in 09 and 12 times in her career.

Manns was named to the first team for the second year in a row after pacing the Big 12 with 12.20 digs per set. The senior from Topeka, Kan. needs just four kills to become the first player in league history to record 5,500 assists, 1,000 digs, 300 kills and 300 blocks in a career. Manns was the only setter this year to be named Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week.

Henson also earns first-team accolades for the second time in her career after finishing third in the league with 4.13 kills. The junior from Leavenworth, Kan. has also posted a career-best 283 digs this season. Henson garnered three Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week awards and was also recognized as AVCA National Player of the Week once.

Hockaday garnered honorable mention recognition after ranking in the top-10 in conference matches for kills (3.31) and points (3.69). The Decatur, Ill. native also averaged 2.97 digs per set against Big 12 foes. The honor is the second of Hockaday’s career after earning Big 12 All-Freshman Team accolades last season.

Straube posted an impressive freshman campaign after breaking into the starting lineup seven matches into the Big 12 season. The middle blocker from Tecumseh, Neb. finished third in the league, averaging 1.21 blocks per set in conference play. She also hit .289 against Big 12 foes, which ranked eighth in the league.

2009 All-Big 12 Volleyball Awards
Player of the Year: Destinee Hooker, Texas, OH, Sr.^
Newcomer of the Year: Paola Ampudia, Missouri, OH, Jr.
Freshman of the Year: Hannah Werth, Nebraska, OH, Fr.
Libero of the Year: Ashley Mass, Iowa State, L, Jr.^
Coach of the Year: Christy Johnson-Lynch, Iowa State

All-Big 12 First Team
Taylor Barnes, Baylor, S, Sr.
Anna Breyfogle, Baylor, MB, Sr.
Victoria Henson, Iowa State, OH, Jr.
Kaylee Manns, Iowa State, S, Sr.
Ashley Mass, Iowa State, L, Jr.^

Paola Ampudia, Missouri, OH, Jr.
Sydney Anderson, Nebraska, S, Jr.
Kori Cooper, Nebraska, MB, Sr.
Brooke Delano, Nebraska, MB, So.
Ashley Engle, Texas, S/RS, Sr.
Juliann Faucette, Texas, OH, Jr.
Destinee Hooker, Texas, OH, Sr.^
Sarah Ammerman, Texas A&M, OH, Sr.
Jennifer Banse, Texas A&M, OH, Sr.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention
Rachel Hockaday, Iowa State, OH, So.
Kelsey Chipman, Kansas State, MB, Sr.
Kayla Banwarth, Nebraska, L, Jr.
Hannah Werth, Nebraska, OH, Fr.
Brianne Barker, Oklahoma, S, So.
Francie Ekwerekwu, Oklahoma, MB, Jr.

All-Freshman Team
Torri Campbell, Baylor, MB
Jamie Straube, Iowa State, MB^
Hannah Werth, Nebraska, OH^
Maria Fernanda, Oklahoma, L
Bailey Webster, Texas, OH/OPP
Lindsey Miller, Texas A&M, MB

^ - Unanimous Selection

More on Volleyball
The Team
Head coach Christy Johnson-Lynch | Coaching Staff
Roster | Big 12 Standings
| Weekly Release

Inside Iowa State Volleyball

Hilton Coliseum

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Historical Information

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Camps | CYd-Out Crew | For Recruits

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song