Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Iowa State Football History: The 1910's

Release: 06/29/2012
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

Photo courtesy of ISU Special Collections

AMES, Iowa - Iowa State’s football legacy stretches over 12 decades back to the program’s formation in 1892. Our Athletics Communications Department recently chronicled the highlights of that history into shortened document for another department project.

So, we decided to share that with you. Each Friday leading up until the home-opener on Sept. 1 vs. Tulsa, will recount major moments in Cyclone football history. Our third part features the 1910's. Archive links will be made below. 


B J.L. Murphy is named first-team All-Missouri Valley Conference.


A.P. Chappell is a first team All-Missouri Valley Conference honoree.


The Cyclones, 2-0 in Missouri Valley Conference play, are declared league champions. The first Homecoming game, on Nov. 16, is played vs. Iowa. The event is a smash success. B R.L. “Buck” Hurst and E Clarence Nagle are first-team All-Missouri Valley Conference.


State Gym opens, providing Iowa State players their first real locker room. Former Cyclone back Homer Hubbard takes over as head coach. E Lynn Cowan is a first-team All-Missouri Valley Conference honoree.


Iowa State Stadium hosts its first Cyclone games at the corner of Boone (now Lincoln Way) and Pike Streets (now Sheldon Ave.).  Clyde Williams becomes Iowa State’s first full-time athletics director. Williams used his own money to help guarantee the bonds necessary to build the new stadium on what had been a prized orchard of the horticultural department. B Durwood “Durry” Moss and E Roscoe Parker are first-team All-Missouri Valley honorees.


Charles Mayser comes from Franklin and Marshall to become head coachat Iowa State. The Cyclones score a 16-0 win at Iowa and beat Drake on Thanksgiving, 28-14 to capture state title.  B Durwood “Dury” Moss and G Harold McKinley are named first-team All-Missouri Valley Conference.


B Howard Aldrich, B Durwood “Dury” Moss and E Roscoe Packer are first-team All-Missouri Valley Conference honors.


G Dick Barker and C Leigh “Polly” Wallace earn first-team All-Missouri Valley Conference honors.


Spanish Flu epidemic limits season to three November games.


G Dick Barker is Iowa State’s first All-American. T Gilbert Denfield and B Stewert White are first-team All-Missouri Valley Conference honorees.

>> The 1900's
>> The 1890's

More on Football
The Team
Staff | Head coach Matt Campbell
Introducing Matt Campbell
Roster | Weekly Release | Depth Chart
Alphabetical Roster | Numerical Roster
Media Guide | Big 12 Standings

Jack Trice Stadium
Bergstrom Indoor Training Facility

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Historical Information
Archives | History | Records

Miscellaneous Links
Camps | For Recruits | Gridiron Club
Walk-On Tryouts | Strength

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Sweet Caroline