Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Fernandez Named ISU's Male Athlete of the Year

Release: 06/10/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa - Iowa State All-American golfer Scott Fernandez has collected a slew of awards and honors throughout his record-setting sophomore campaign. He added yet another to his resume today.

A Second-Team All American by Golfweek and All-Big 12 First-Team selection, the Iowa State Athletics Department named Fernandez its Male Athlete of the Year for the 2012-13 athletics season.

It marks the second season in a row where a men’s golfer was honored as ISU's top male athlete. Nate McCoy won the award last season.

A native of Granada, Spain, Fernandez’ season was unprecedented in program history. Fernandez competed in 10 tournaments, finishing in the top-10 in eight of them, including an individual victory at the Furman Intercollegiate. He also had seven top-five finishes.

Fernandez, who was ranked 18th nationally in the final Golfweek ratings, capped off the season by breaking the school’s single-season stroke average mark (71.27) and becoming just one of five Cyclones in school history to earn an individual berth at an NCAA Regional.

The Spaniard tallied seven sub-70 rounds on the year, including a 65 at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational, tying for the second-best 18-hole score in school history. His 54-hole score of 203 at that meet is the second-lowest tournament tally in school history.

Fernandez, who was the first Cyclone to make the Hogan Award watch list, missed two events during the season while competing for Spain at World Amateur where he tied for 13th.  He recently represented Europe at the prestigious Palmer Cup, college golf’s equivalent to the Ryder Cup.

Iowa State Male Athlete of the Year Winners
1947  Ron Norman  Basketball
1948  Glen Brand   Wrestling
1949  Bob Peterson  Basketball
1950  Bill Weeks   Football
1951  Jim Doran   Football
1952  Mal Schmidt  Football & Swimming
1953  Jack Erickson  Football & Wrestling
1954  Max Burkett  Football
1955  Chuck Duncan  Basketball
1956  Gary Thompson  Baseball & Basketball
1957  Gary Thompson  Baseball & Basketball
1958  Frank Powell  Football & Wrestling
1959  Ron Gray   Wrestling
1960  Dwight Nichols  Football
1961  Tom Watkins  Football
1962  Dave Hoppman  Football
1963  Marv Straw   Basketball
1964  Gordon Hassman  Wrestling
1965  Tom Vaughn  Football
1966  Tom Peckham  Wrestling
1967  Don Smith   Basketball
1968  Don Smith   Basketball
1969  Dan Gable   Wrestling
1970   Dan Gable   Wrestling
1971  Otto Stowe   Football
1972  George Amundson Football
1973  Chris Taylor  Wrestling
1974  Doug Fitzjarrell  Gymnastics
1975  Al Nacin   Wrestling
1976  Pete Galea   Wrestling
1977  Wayne Stanley  Football
1978  Mark Trippel  Gymnastics
1979  Mike Land   Wrestling
1980   Mike Schwartz  Football
1981  Ron Galimore  Gymnastics
1982   John Quinn  Football 
1983   Nate Carr   Wrestling
1984   Bob Verbeeck  Track & Field
1985   Barry Stevens  Basketball
1986   Mark Diab   Gymnastics
1987  Stewart Carter  Wrestling
1988  Eric Hansen  Swimming
           Jeff Grayer   Basketball
1989   Tim Krieger  Wrestling
1990   Mike Busch   Baseball & Football
1991  John Nuttall  Cross Country and Track & Field
1992   Obinna Eregbu  Track & Field
1993  Jonah Koech  Track & Field
1994  Eric Akin   Wrestling
1995  Fred Hoiberg  Basketball
1996   Dmitry Drozdov  Track & Field and Cross Country
1997   Chris Bono   Wrestling
1998  Dwight Hinson  Wrestling 
1999  Cael Sanderson  Wrestling
2000   Marcus Fizer  Basketball
2001  Jamaal Tinsley   Basketball
           Cael Sanderson  Wrestling
2002  Cael Sanderson  Wrestling
2003  Seneca Wallace  Football
2004  Zach Roberson  Wrestling
           Jake Sullivan  Basketball
2005  Ellis Hobbs   Football
2006  Nate Gallick  Wrestling
2007  Trent Paulson  Wrestling
2008  Chris Baker  Golf
2009  Jake Varner  Wrestling
2010  Jake Varner  Wrestling
2011  Jon Reader  Wrestling
2012  Nate McCoy  Golf
2013  Scott Fernandez Golf

More on Men's Golf
The Team
Head coach Andrew Tank | Coaching Staff
Roster | History/Records | Weekly Release

Golf Performance Center | Photos
Inside Iowa State Golf

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Camps | Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song