Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Robinson MVP at Football Banquet

Release: 03/21/2011
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa Iowa State running back Alexander Robinson, one of the steadiest performers in Iowa State football history, earned the Pete Taylor MVP Award as Iowa State’s Most Valuable Player Monday at the team post season banquet. A three-year starter, Robinson finished his career with 3,309 rushing yards and 13 100-yard games, ranking him fourth in Iowa State history in both categories.
Robinson, who started 37 games in his career, also was honored along with teammates Austen Arnaud, Mike O’Connell and Rashawn Parker with the Ralph Aulmann Memorial Award, given annually to the Cyclone co-captains.

Tight end Collin Franklin, whose 54 receptions set a single-season school record for Iowa State tight ends and ranked ninth among all receivers in school history earned the Ray Scott Award as the outstanding offensive skill player on a vote of his teammates. He finished his career with 87 receptions for 980 yards and five touchdowns.

Linebacker Jake Knott was the recipient of the Al and Dean Knudson Award as the team’s top defensive skill player on a vote of his teammates. Knott, a second-team all-Big 12 honoree, had one of the best sophomore seasons in Iowa State history. The Waukee native made 130 tackles, broke up five passes, made four interceptions and forced four fumbles. He also received honorable mention for the league’s defensive player-of-the-year award.

Punter Kirby Van Der Kamp earned the Jim Doran Award as the outstanding special teams player on a vote of his teammates. Van Der Kamp led the nation’s freshmen punters, averaging 45.17 yards per kick. His average ranks second in Iowa State single-season history. The West Des Moines native was the only freshman named to the AP all-conference team and was a freshman All-American. Van Der Kamp also was given the Durwood “Dury” Moss Award as the team’s outstanding newcomer.

The Arthur Floyd Scott Award went to center Ben Lamaak. A member of the 2010 Outland Trophy Watch List, Lamaak played three different positions in the offensive line, starting 43 games during his career. He was an honorable mention All-Big 12 honoree in 2010. Jacob Lattimer was tabbed as the team’s defensive lineman of the year after making 39 tackles with four sacks last fall.

Wide receiver Jarvis West and defensive end Rony Nelson, who both redshirted the 2010 season, were named the offensive and scout team defensive players of the year, respectively. Another redshirt, C.J. Morgan, earned the Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year Award.

O’Connell, a safety, was named the winner of the Reuben J. Miller Award as the player whose conduct on and off the field has brought honor and distinction to the University.

Offensive lineman Alex Alvarez was given the Bill Dailey Award as the player who made a great contribution to the team with little public recognition. The Ennis Haywood Consideration Award as the senior player who was most considerate of the Student Support Staff voted on by student trainers and managers also went to Alvarez.

The Academic Award went to defensive lineman Taylor Mansfield. Mansfield earned the award as the football player with the highest team grade-point average who has completed at least four semesters of academic study and has made a significant contribution to the team.

More on Football
The Team
Staff | Head coach Matt Campbell
Introducing Matt Campbell
Roster | Weekly Release | Depth Chart
Alphabetical Roster | Numerical Roster
Media Guide | Big 12 Standings

Jack Trice Stadium
Bergstrom Indoor Training Facility

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Historical Information
Archives | History | Records

Miscellaneous Links
Camps | For Recruits | Gridiron Club
Walk-On Tryouts | Strength

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song