Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Becker, Shannon-Tamrat Earn Iowa Intercollegiate Titles

Release: 09/18/2011
Print RSS


AMES, Iowa - The Iowa State cross country teams dominated the competition Saturday at the Iowa Intercollegiate on the ISU Cross Country Course. Redshirt freshman Maddy Becker claimed the women's title, finishing the 4,000-meter course in 18:56. Redshirt freshman Besu Shannon-Tamrat won the men's 8,000-meter race in a time of 26:35. The Cyclone men and women both won the team title as well.

Iowa State head coach Corey Ihmels said the groups used this meet as a stepping stone in preparation for the Roy Griak Invitational next weekend in Minneapolis.

"The top groups on each side performed really well and finished the race together," Ihmels said. "We had certain splits we wanted them to hit and they did that as well. Overall, it was a great day."

The Cyclone women claimed the top-16 spots of the results while the men earned the top-11 spots.

Iowa State competes next at the Roy Griak Invitational on the Les Bolstad Golf Course in Minneapolis.


Iowa State Results:

Men 8,0000-meter race: 1) Besu Shannon-Tamrat, unattached, 26:35; 2) Abdou Seye, IOWA STATE,  26:35; 3) Stephen Saylor, IOWA STATE, 26:35; 4) Charlie Paul, IOWA STATE, 26:35; 5) Steve Dado, unattached, 26:35; 6) Alex Dillenbeck, IOWA STATE, 26:36; 7) Edward Kemboi, unattached, 26:36; 8) Nick Schulze, IOWA STATE, 26:36; 9) Edwin Serem, unattached, 26:37; 10) Martin Coolidge, unattached, 26:37; 11) Rico Loy, unattached, 26:37; 13) Brian Llamas, unattached, 27:21; 14) Alec Baldwin, unattached, 27:22; 18) Alec Bollman, IOWA STATE, 27:32; 22) Cullen Wannarka, unattached, 27:58; 26) Kyle Donnelly, IOWA STATE, 28:14

Women 5,000-meter race: 1) Maddy Becker, IOWA STATE, 18:57; 2) Betsy Saina, unattached, 18:57; 3) Dani Stack, unattached, 18:57; 4) Samantha Bluske, unattached 18;57; 5) Meaghan Nelson, IOWA STATE, 18:58; 6) Indie lee, unattached, 18:58; 7) Taylor Petersen, unattached, 18:58; 8) Morgan Casey, unattached, 18:58; 9) Beth Olson, IOWA STATE, 18:59; 10) Maggie Gannon, IOWA STATE, 18:59; 11) Kersten Thorgaard, IOWA STATE, 19:17; 12) Emily Meese, IOWA STATE, 19:34; 13) Marley Crusch, IOWA STATE, 19:35; 14) Colleen Riley, unattached, 19:49; 15) Erin Valenti, unattached 20:02; 16) Andrea Toppin unattached, 20:03

More on Cross Country
The Team
Head coach Martin Smith | Coaching Staff
Roster | History
| Weekly Release

Cross Country Course

Course Maps

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Alumni Questionnaire | For Recruits
Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song