Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Cyclone Women Reclaim Roy Griak Title

Release: 09/25/2011
Print RSS
Related Links
More from


FALCON HEIGHTS, Minn. - The Iowa State women's cross country team reclaimed the team trophy at the Roy Griak Invitational with three runners finishing in the top-15 Saturday at the Les Bolstad Golf Course. The women had a total of 128 team points and tied for first place with California. After a tiebreaker, the Cyclones became the outright meet champions. The women last won the team title in 2009.

Iowa State's women's team was led by senior Dani Stack, who ran to an eighth-place finish on the 6,000-meter course. Stack was followed by juniors Meaghan Nelson and Betsy Saina, who crossed the finish line 13th and 15th, respectively.

The Cyclone men were paced on the 8,000-meter course by senior Rico Loy's 13th-place finish. He was followed closely by sophomore Martin Coolidge, who finished 17th. Iowa State's men finished sixth in the team race with 212 points. North Carolina State won the men's team tropy with 96 points.

The Iowa State cross country team returns to action on October 14 at the Wisconsin Adidas Invitatonal in Madison, Wis.

Iowa State Results

Men's 8,000-Meter Race:
1) Lawi Lalang, Arizona, 23:15.50; 13) Rico Loy, IOWA STATE, 24:29.90; 17) Martin Coolidge, IOWA STATE, 24:32.80; 50) Edward Kemboi, IOWA STATE, 25:02.70; 51) Falko Zauber, IOWA STATE, 25:32.00; 109) Steve Dado, IOWA STATE, 25:44.20; 134) Stephen Saylor, IOWA STATE, 26:04.40; 180) Nick Schulze, IOWA STATE, 26:48.80; 193) Abdou Seye, IOWA STATE, 27:15.40

Women's 6,000-Meter Race: 1) Deborah Miller, California; 8) Dani Stack, IOWA STATE, 20:56.90; 13) Meaghan Nelson, IOWA STATE, 21:01.80; 15) Betsy Saina, IOWA STATE, 21:05.50; 44) India Lee, IOWA STATE, 21:41.10; 48) Morgan Casey, IOWA STATE, 21:44.90; 114) Beth Olson, IOWA STATE, 22:22.60; 146) Maggie Gannon, IOWA STATE, 22:44.80; 148) Maddy Becker, IOWA STATE, 22:45.80; 167) Emily Meese, IOWA STATE, 22:58.30; 192) Kersten Thorgaard, IOWA STATE, 23:25.30.

More on Cross Country
The Team
Head coach Martin Smith | Coaching Staff
Roster | History
| Weekly Release

Cross Country Course

Course Maps

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Alumni Questionnaire | For Recruits
Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song