Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Ten Cyclones Earn Dr. Gerald Lage Award Honors

Release: 03/06/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from
AMES, Iowa – The Big 12 Conference has announced the recipients of the 2013 Dr. Gerald Lage award, the league’s highest academic honor, including 10 Iowa State student-athletes. Overall, 75 Big 12 student-athletes were recognized.

Iowa State track and field led the Cyclones with five honorees: Madeline Becker (political science), Tressa Borchardt (childhood and family services), Anna Holtermann (biology), Bethany Olson (agriculture business) and Taylor Petersen (animal science).

Taylor Knuth (kinesiology), Alison Landwehr (accounting) and Jamie Straube (kinesiology) represented the Cyclone volleyball team on the list. Women’s basketball player Elly Arganbright (journalism) and soccer’s Megan Longobardi (dietetics) rounded out the Cyclone contingent.

Baylor led all conference schools with 14 award recipients. 

From the Big 12:

The honor is in memory of [Dr. Gerald] Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. During his tenure at OSU, he served as the director of graduate studies in the department of economics (1974-77), head of the department of economics and finance (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87), and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the college of business administration (1997-2004).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

More on Cross Country
The Team
Head coach Martin Smith | Coaching Staff
Roster | History
| Weekly Release

Cross Country Course

Course Maps

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Alumni Questionnaire | For Recruits
Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song