Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Bluske, DMR Crowned On Day 1 Of Big 12 Championships

Release: 02/28/2014
Print RSS

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State men’s and women’s track and field teams are off to a strong start at this year’s Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships, as 13 Cyclone student-athletes earned All-Big 12 accolades, including two conference titles.

The Cyclones packed the podium in the women’s 5,000-meter run, as senior Samantha Bluske ran to the conference title, breaking the tape in a personal best 16:19.36. The time is nearly 16 seconds faster than her previous mark and cements her spot at No. 5 on Iowa State’s all-time list in the event. Katy Moen finished third in the race, crossing the line in 16:22.09, also a personal best. Moen jumps onto the all-time list, coming in a No. 6 with the performance. The Cyclones added a third on the awards stand, as freshman Bethanie Brown finished sixth in 16:37.99. The race marked Moen’s and Bluske’s fourth time earning All-Big 12 accolades and the second for Brown. Bluske’s title is the seventh won by a Cyclone in the event.

The distance medley relay squad of Maggie Gannon, Kendra White, Perez Rotich and Ejiro Okoro put together a memorable race to capture the Big 12 title. The Cyclones battled back and forth with Baylor. Entering the final leg, the Cyclones were in second place by over 30 meters. Okoro ran strong as the anchor and kept pace with the Lady Bears entering the final lap. When the bell sounded, Okoro made her move. The Birmingham, England, native narrowed the gap, took the lead on the final straightaway and held the baton up in triumph as she crossed the line to seal the victory. The win marks Iowa State’s first in the event in Big 12 Championship history.

The men’s DMR team notched a runner-up finish, crossing the line in 9:47.46. The squad of Edward Kemboi, Derek Jones, Brandon Barnes and Brian Llamas battled with Oklahoma, but came up just short. The time is good for the 10th-fastest in program history.

Iowa State thrower Henry Kelley was the first Cyclone to score team points in this year’s Big 12 Championships with a sixth-place finish in the weight throw. Kelley picked up three points on a 59 foot, one-quarter inch throw, setting a personal best in the event. The Waukee, Iowa, native broke his previous best by two inches, which he set at this year’s ISU Classic (59’10.25”). The sixth-place finish earns Kelley All-Big 12 recognition.

Mohamed Hrezi garnered all-conference accolades for the fifth time in his career, placing fifth in the men’s 5,000-meter run. The Naugatuck, Conn., native crossed the line in 14:18.08 in a very strategic race, as the lead runners packed up for the greater majority of the race. Hrezi outkicked Texas’ Will Nation to claim his sixth-place finish.

Kendra White continued her impressive season in the 400-meter dash this evening, advancing to tomorrow’s final in the event. White finished second in her heat and holds the seventh-fastest qualifying time at 54.16. The St. Louis, Mo., native now holds the three fastest times in Iowa State indoor history at 54.11, 54.16 and 54.29, recording each time this season.

Two Cyclones notched personal bests in the women’s mile in Maggie Gannon (4:47.32) and Heidi Engelhardt (5:00.21). Engelhardt lowered her personal mark for the second consecutive week, breaking her previous mark of 5:02.56. Gannon qualified for tomorrow’s final in the event, running over two seconds faster than her previous best of 4:49.83.

A trio of Cyclones qualified for the finals in the men’s 1,000-meter run in Edward Kemboi, Joe Gioielli and Alec Baldwin. Kemboi notched the fastest qualifying mark at 2:26.41, with Gioielli and Baldwin coming in seventh and eighth at 2:27.53 and 2:27.88 respectively. Each Cyclone will score team points in the finals, competing as one of the top-eight individuals in the event.

A personal record from Jacob Hoogensen lifted him into the finals of the men’s 600-yard run. Hoogensen notched the eighth fastest qualifying time in 1:11.74, nearly a full second ahead of his previous mark.

In the women’s 800-meter run, Ejiro Okoro and Maryn Lowry are both slated for the finals after qualifying third and eighth, respectively. Okoro crossed the line in 2:09.63 and has run as fast as 2:03.91 this season, while Lowry set a personal record in 2:12.25.

Perez Rotich advanced to the finals of the women’s 1,000-meter run, with the sixth-fastest qualifying mark of 2:53.79.

Christina Hillman and Anna Holtermann both notched personal records in the women’s weight throw. Hillman improved her previous mark by over a foot, throwing the weight 54 feet, 9.50 inches. Holtermann hit a mark of 51-11.25, improving her personal best for the second consecutive week.

Cyclone PR’s
*Maggie Gannon (mile): 4:47.32
*Heidi Engelhardt (mile): 5:00.21
*Henry Kelley (WT): 59’00.50”
*Jacob Hoogensen (600yd): 1:11.74
*Maryn Lowry (800m): 2:12.25
*Christina Hillman (WT): 54-09.50
*Anna Holtermann (WT): 51-11.25
*Samantha Bluske (5,000m): 16:19.36
*Katy Moen (5,000m): 16:22.09
*Bethanie Brown (5,000m): 16:37.99

Women’s Results
200m: 1) Ashley Spencer, Texas, 23.52; 17) Jessica Nichols, 25.16
400m: 1) Kendall Baisden, Texas, 52.71; 7) Kendra White, Iowa State, 54.16
600yd: 1) Whitney Adams, Kansas, 1:20.83; 5) Ese Okoro, Iowa State, 1:22.00; 8) Krista Shoeman, Iowa State, 1:22.84
800m: 1) Kaela Edwards, Oklahoma State, 2:07.86; 3) Ejiro Okoro, Iowa State, 2:09.63; 8) Maryn Lowry, Iowa State, 2:12.25
1000m: 1) Savannah Camacho, Oklahoma State, 2:51.80; 6) Perez Rotich, Iowa State, 2:53.79; 11) Maddie Nagle, Iowa State, 2:55.21
Mile: 1) Marielle Hall, Texas, 4:42.60; 2) Maggie Gannon, Iowa State, 4:47.32; 12) Heidi Engelhardt, Iowa State, 5:00.21
5000m: 1) Samantha Bluske, Iowa State, 16:19.36; 3) Katy Moen, Iowa State, 16:22.09; 6) Bethanie Brown, Iowa State, 16:37.99
60m-h: 1) Le’Tristan Pledger, Texas Tech, 8.10; 13) Kaci Storm, Iowa State, 9.08
DMR: 1) Iowa State, 11:12.31
Weight Throw: 1) Sara Savatovic, Kansas State, 63-03.50; 10) Christina Hillman, Iowa State, 54-09.50; 12) Anna Holtermann, Iowa State, 51-11.25

Men’s Results:
60m: 1) Trayvon Bromell, Baylor, 6.67; 14) Jared Ingram, Iowa State, 7.062; 15) Ivan Tamba, Iowa State, 7.068
600yd: 1) Kenneth McCuin, Kansas, 1:09.92; 8) Jacob Hoogensen, Iowa State, 1:11.74; 9) Derek Jones, Iowa State, 1:11.86; 15) Trey Achterhoff, Iowa State, 1:13.35
800m: 1) Edward Kemboi, Iowa State, 1:51.54
1000m: 1) Edward Kemboi, Iowa State, 2:26.41; 7) Joe Gioielli, Iowa State, 2:27.53; 8) Alec Baldwin, Iowa State, 2:27.88
Mile: 1) Ezekiel Kissorio, Texas Tech, 4:11.02; 11) Alex Dillenbeck, Iowa State, 4:18.18
5000m: 1) Kirubel Erassa, Oklahoma State, 14:11.29; 6) Mohamed Hrezi, Iowa State, 14:18.08; 16) Tyler Jermann, Iowa State, 15:08.16
60m-h: 1) Jordan Moore, TCU, 7.89; 4) Ryan Sander, Iowa State, 7.98
DMR: 1) Oklahoma, 9:45.32; 2) Iowa State, 9:47.46
Weight Throw: 1) Nick Miller, Oklahoma State, 67-08.25; 6) Henry Kelly, Iowa State, 59-00.25
Long Jump: 1) Jharyl Bowry, Kansas State, 24-05.00; 16) Mark Johnson, Iowa State, 22-03.50 

More on Track & Field
The Team
Head coach Martin Smith | Coaching Staff
Roster | History
| Weekly Release

Lied Recreational Center (indoor)
Cyclone Sports Complex (outdoor)

Home Meets
Big 12 Indoor Championships
ISU Classic

Home Meet Info

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Alumni Questionnaire | For Recruits
Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song