Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Iowa State Adds Eight To Its Hall Of Fame

Release: 09/14/2012
Photo Album Print RSS
More from
AMES, Iowa - Eight former Cyclones stars were awarded the highest honor by the Iowa State Athletics Department Friday night at the Gateway Center. Samuel Beyer (administration), Carl Brettschneider (football), Kevin Darkus (wrestling), Dmitry Drozdov (track & field/cross country), Andrew Parker (basketball), Diane Vetter (track & field/cross country), Gene Williams (football) and Dedric Willoughby (basketball) received their Iowa State Letterwinners Club Hall of Fame medals as the newest members of the prestigious club.

Willoughby led Iowa State to back-to-back NCAA Tournament appearances in 1996 and 1997 while earning All-America honors both seasons. The 1996 Big Eight Newcomer of the Year is still Iowa State's single-season leader in 3-pointers made with 102.

The dead-eye shooter was thrilled to be a hall of fame selection in his first year of eligibility.

"This is the greatest honor I could receive," Willoughby said. "I truly love Iowa State and I owe so much to this University. Iowa State gave me an opportunity to excel and I am forever indebted to this place."

Williams, who was an All-American offensive lineman for the Cyclones in 1990, forged a solid NFL career after graduating from Iowa State. Williams started 65 games in the NFL, including a spot on the offensive line for the Atlanta Falcons in Super Bowl XXXIII.

Williams was thrilled to be back on a football weekend.

"I am really excited," Williams said. "I wasn't expecting it and wasn't prepared for it. I am honored to be in. It's great to see some of my old teammates. Keith Sims made it back and I think he is more excited for me than I am. It is so great to have him back in Ames to celebrate this weekend."

A total of 142 athletes have been enshrined into the Iowa State Letterwinners Club Athletics Hall of Fame, which was established in 1997.

Click on the links above to watch a feature video of the inductees and view photos from the event.
More on Letterwinners Club
Club Board and Committees
Club Structure | Club Members | Board of Directors
Student-Athlete Affairs

Letterwinners Events and Reunions
Event Schedule | Hall of Fame | Nomination Form

Special Events
Cyclone Club | Cy's House of Trivia
Cyclone Tailgate Tour | Special Events With ISUAA

Miscellaneous Links
Letterwinners Club Merchandise
Letter Awards | Replacement Letter Ring

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song