Untitled Document

Scholarship endowments are a key source of funding that can help ensure the long-term health of the Iowa State University athletics program.  Endowments help underwrite the costs of tuition, room, board, books, academic support and other student services for each of Iowa State’s 18 varsity sports.

The costs for scholarship support in the athletics department continue to escalate and securing endowments is one way to gain that support and also, if the donor wishes, recognize or honor an individual with a named endowment.

Athletics scholarship endowment naming opportunities are available to fully endow an athletics scholarship ($250,000) or name an endowed scholarship ($25,000).  Gifts may be pledged over time, typically three to five years.

Several of the existing department endowments have been named in honor or memory of an individual.

Here is a list of current endowed scholarships for Iowa State Athletics:

Kevin & Brenda Askland Endowed Football Scholarship
Ralph L. Aulmann Memorial Scholarship
William Vinson Bibb Endowed Scholarship
Ed & Ruth Bock Endowed Athletic Scholarship
Engel Football Scholarship Endowment
Richard S. Grant Endowed Scholarship
Lynn Kruse Football Scholarship
Jordan L. Larson Jr. Endowed Quarterback Scholarship
Lowell & Geraldine Mattox Memorial Athletic Scholarship
Mike Michalske Endowed Football Scholarship
Barney Simmons Memorial Scholarship
Al & Sara Sorensen Football Scholarship Fund
Robert Watkins & Mary Swartz Athletic Trainer Achievement Scholarship
Silas Snyder Scholarship Endowment Award
The Brownlie Scholarship
The Presidential Scholarship
Lloyd & Ada Bock Athletic Scholarship
William A. Minert Athletic Scholarship
James W. White Enowed Scholarship Fund
Lindholm Golf Scholarship
Brian Pearson Memorial Scholarship
Grace & T.A. Wilson Swimming Scholarship Fund
Jack McGuire Scholarship Endowment
Laura Vernon Scholarship for Women Athletes
Muriel MacBride Memorial Scholarship
Jim Doerr Tennis Scholarship
Lindus L. Caulum Track Scholarship Award
Women’s Intercollegiate Athletic Scholarship
Gary and Donnice Woods Endowed Wrestling Scholarship
Ralph A. Olson Basketball Scholarship Award
Richard (Swede) & Beverly Nelson Memorial Scholarship
Hugo Otopalik Wrestling Scholarship
Raymond & Kathryn Engel Endowment for Athletics
Gerry Clausius Athletic Endowment
William Dailey Memorial Award
Pete Taylor Memorial Scholarship
Sally Pease Athletic Department Enrichment Fund
Peg Neppel Darrah Memorial Track Award
J. Elaine Heiber Leadership Fund