Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Fernandez Finishes 13th At NCAA Columbus Regional

Release: 05/18/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Iowa State sophomore Scott Fernandez’ historic season came to a close this afternoon after firing a final-round 70, his lowest 18-hole total of the tournament. The Cyclone star finished the NCAA Columbus Regional tied for 13th with a 218 (74-74-70) three-round total.

Fernandez found trouble early, bogeying three of his first five holes, but the Granada, Spain native bore down to shoot 4-under over the final 13 holes, a run highlighted by four birdies. The stellar performance lifted him seven spots on the leaderboard after starting the day tied for 20th. Fernandez was one of nine golfers to shoot under par over the final 18 holes at the Scarlet Course.

Fernandez wraps up his sophomore campaign with a 71.27 stroke average. The mark breaks the program record set last season by All-American Nate McCoy (71.65).

New Mexico won the team title behind a round-low 283. The Lobos were led by medalist James Erkenbeck, who carded a 210 three-round total.

New Mexico, Auburn, South Carolina, UNLV and Texas Tech advance to the NCAA Championships, May 28 – June 2, in Atlanta, Ga. Virginia golfer Denny McCarthy earned the individual qualifier, finishing tied for second at 214.

Fernandez will travel to Wilmington, Del. to compete in the Palmer Cup, the Ryder Cup of amateur golf, June 7-9. The phenom was selected to compete for Team Europe in the match-play event and was the second selection behind fellow Big 12-member Julien Brun of TCU.

Team Scores
1. New Mexico 294-293-283 = 870
2. Auburn 293-293-286 = 872
    South Carolina 288-296-288 = 872
4. UNLV 292-292-294 = 878
5. Texas Tech 299-288-292 = 879
6. Virginia 303-294-285 = 882
7. Stanford 291-295-298 = 884
8. Missouri 294-301-291 = 886
9. Charlotte 287-309-293 = 889
    Chattanooga 304-294-291 = 889
11.San Francisco 297-299-297 = 893
12. Georgia Southern 298-308-309 = 915
13. Valparaiso 309-308-310 = 927

Individual Scores
1. James Erkenbeck, New Mexico 72-70-68 = 210
2. Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn 71-74-69 = 214
    Denny McCarthy, Virginia 74-74-66 = 214
    Matthew NeSmith, South Carolina 75-71-68 = 214
13. Scott Fernandez, Iowa State 74-74-70 = 218

More on Letterwinners Club
Club Board and Committees
Club Structure | Club Members | Board of Directors
Student-Athlete Affairs

Letterwinners Events and Reunions
Event Schedule | Hall of Fame | Nomination Form

Special Events
Cyclone Club | Cy's House of Trivia
Cyclone Tailgate Tour | Special Events With ISUAA

Miscellaneous Links
Letterwinners Club Merchandise
Letter Awards | Replacement Letter Ring

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song