Pin Us
Gameday Fan Feedback
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Cyclones Finish Third At Dick McGuire Invitational

Release: 09/21/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links
More from

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M.– The Iowa State women’s golf team shot a final-round 289 this afternoon to finish in third place at the Dick McGuire Invitational. The Cyclones were led by sophomore Cajsa Persson, who fired a 3-under 70 in the last 18 holes to jump into a tie for seventh in the medalist race (75-73-70) at 218. Persson now has four top-10 finishes in her career.

Pepperdine won the team title at 865. Oregon was runner-up at 877, one shot better than Iowa State (878). ISU's 54-hole team total is the sixth-best in school history.

Persson was not the only Cyclone with success on the links this afternoon. Two other Cyclones turned in rounds under par. Senior Prima Thammaraks, who was tied for the lead after the first round, shot a 1-under 72 today to place 10th in the medalist race (70-77-72) at 219. It was Thammaraks’ sixth top-10 performance of her career. Sasikarn On-iam carded a 2-under 71 in the final round, elevating her into a tie for 11th (78-71-71=220).

Chonlanda Chayanun shot a final-round 76 to tie for 27th at 230.

The Cyclones are back in action on Sept. 30-Oct. 1 at the Windy City Collegiate.

Team Scores
1. Pepperdine 290-291-284= 865
2. Oregon 299-286-292= 877
3. Iowa State 297-292-289= 878
4. Northwestern 296-293-295= 884
5. UC Davis 300-288-300= 888
6. San Diego State 303-298-294= 895
7. Colorado 295-304-297= 896
8. New Mexico 307-301-293= 901
9. Oregon State 299-306-304= 909
     UNLV 301-309-299= 909
11. Texas Tech 309-306-307= 922
12. Iowa 311-311-305= 927
13. Fresno State 306-312-318=936
       Nevada 314-314-308= 936
15. UTEP 309-317-317=943
16. Wyoming 320-311-326= 957

Iowa State Scores
T7. Cajsa Persson 75-73-70= 218
10. Prima Thammaraks 70-77-72=219
T11. Sasikarn On-iam 78-71-71= 220
T27. Chonlada Chayanun 74-75-76= 225
T40. Carmen Vidau 80-73-77=230
T81. Katie Gustafson 78-81-87= 246

Top Individuals
1. Cassy Isagawa, Oregon 70-68-69= 207
2. Marissa Chow, Pepperdine 72-73-68= 213
3. Sirene Blair, San Diego State 72-71-72= 215
    Somin Lee, Pepperdine 70-72-73= 215

More on Letterwinners Club
Club Board and Committees
Club Structure | Club Members | Board of Directors
Student-Athlete Affairs

Letterwinners Events and Reunions
Event Schedule | Hall of Fame | Nomination Form

Special Events
Cyclone Club | Cy's House of Trivia
Cyclone Tailgate Tour | Special Events With ISUAA

Miscellaneous Links
Letterwinners Club Merchandise
Letter Awards | Replacement Letter Ring

Gameday Fan Feedback
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Cy's Pets of the Week
2:00 Timeout
U.S. Cellular Text the Coach
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song