Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Iowa State Golf Returns To NCAA Championship

Release: 05/20/2014
Print RSS
AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State men’s golf team is back in the NCAA Championship after a 61-year hiatus. The Cyclones ended the drought in record-setting fashion by tying for fourth at the NCAA Columbia Regional last weekend.

Three strokes out of the final qualifying spot heading into the final round, the Cyclones recorded arguably their greatest round in school history. ISU set a school scoring mark by firing an 18-under 270, catapulting the Cyclones to their first NCAA Championship appearance since 1953. It was the lowest final-round score among 14 teams competing at the regional.

Juniors Scott Fernandez and Sam Daley led the charge in the final round, carding a pair of 66s, the lowest rounds recorded by Cyclones in NCAA postseason play. Fernandez tied for 6th (209) for the best finish by a Cyclone in NCAA Regional play.

Fernandez, a 2013 All-American, leads the team in stroke average (71.75) and top-10 finishes (7). Daley, the runner-up medalist at the Big 12 Championship, is third on the team in stroke average (72.55). Sophomore Collin Foster (75.50) and freshmen Ruben Sondjaja (72.76) and Jack Carter (76.33) will round out ISU’s lineup at the national tournament.

The ISU men will now join the Cyclone women golfers as participants in the NCAA finals. The ISU women secured their first-ever berth at the national tournament on May 10 by tying for sixth at the NCAA West Regional. ISU is one of just 11 schools in the nation with both men’s and women’s golf teams participating in the NCAA Championship: Iowa State, Alabama, California, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Stanford, Texas A&M, UCLA, USC, Vanderbilt, Washington.

Iowa State will be making its seventh appearance at the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship (1939, 1940, 1947, 1949, 1952, 1953, 2014). The last time a Cyclone competed in the NCAA finals, however, was in 2012 when Nate McCoy qualified as an individual. McCoy tied for 29th at the Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, California.

The 2014 NCAA Men’s Golf Championship will be held at the Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas, May 23-28. The course will play as a par-70 at 6,948 yards. The 2013 Big 12 Championship was contested at Prairie Dunes. Fernandez tied for 7th to earn all-tournament honors. For more information about Prairie Dunes, click here.

All 30 teams and six individuals (156 total golfers) competing will play 54 holes of stroke play on May 23-25 (18 holes each day). The top eight teams will advance to the match play portion of the tournament beginning on May 27.

After 54 holes of stroke play, the top 40 players and ties will advance for one additional day (May 26) of stroke play to determine the 72-hole national champion.

The Golf Channel will begin its coverage of the event on May 26 on the final day of individual stroke play.

2014 NCAA Championship participants – in order by Golfweek ranking
#1 Alabama, #2 Georgia Tech, #3 Georgia, #4 Stanford, #5 Oklahoma State, #6 California, #8 Illinois, #9 Washington, #10 Houston, #11 Texas A&M, #13 Texas, #14 Virginia Tech, #15 Vanderbilt, #16 UAB, #17 LSU, #18 UCLA, #19 Oklahoma, #20 South Carolina, #21 Auburn, #23 Arkansas, #24 Florida State, #25 USC, #31 SMU, #33 Kentucky, #39 Kennesaw State, #43 Iowa State, #44 Oregon, #45 Missouri, #46 Georgia State, #51 Purdue

For more information on the 2014 Men’s Golf Championship and live scoring, go to tournament central.
More on Men's Golf
The Team
Head coach Andrew Tank | Coaching Staff
Roster | History/Records | Weekly Release

Golf Performance Center | Photos
Inside Iowa State Golf

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Camps | Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Sweet Caroline