Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Cyclones Hand Out Season Awards

Release: 04/15/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from
AMES, Iowa- The Iowa State swimming and diving team held its annual awards banquet Sunday afternoon at the Gateway Hotel and Conference Center.

Sophomore Amanda Paulson was named the Cyclones Most Valuable Swimmer award for the second year. Paulson holds Iowa State’s top times for the season in the 50 free style and 100 butterfly as well as sitting second in the 100 freestyle. For the season the sophomore recorded eight first-place finishes in the 50 freestyle and two first-place finishes in the 100 butterfly. The Monticello, Minn. native also finished sixth at the Big 12 Championships in the 50 freestyle and took 15th in the 100 freestyle and 16th in the 100 butterfly.

Freshman Elyse Brouillette earned two honors throughout the afternoon being named Most Valuable Diver and Newcomer of the Year. Brouillette led the Cyclones on all three boards throughout the entire season and is ranked fourth in Cyclone history on all three boards. The freshman also earned her first Big 12 Diver of the Week honor on Dec. 12. At the Big 12 Championship meet she finished fourth on the 1-meter board, ninth on the 3-meter board and fifth on platform. She also represented the Cyclones at the NCAA Zone Meet taking 30th on the 3-meter, 32nd on the 1-meter and 21st on platform.

Bre Loeschke and Katie Vollhaber were chosen for the Cyclones Most Improved Swimmer award. At the Big 12 Championship meet, Loeschke clocked in a new school record and NCAA “B” cut time of 1:56.82 in the 200 backstroke. The sophomore also leads the Cyclones in the 100 backstroke and sits second overall in Cyclone history. Vollhaber led the Cyclones in both the 100 and 200 freestyle and also sits second in the 50 freestyle for the season. At the Big 12 Championships, the junior finished 15th in the 50 freestyle, 10th in the 200 freestyle and 12th in the 100 freestyle event.

Senior Marley Dobyns took the honors of Most Improved Diver. At the Big 12 Championship meet, Dobyns finished 11th on the 1-meter board, 20th on the 3-meter board and sixth on platform. The senior also finished the season third overall for the Cyclones on the 1-meter board and second overall on the 3-meter and platform board, finishing with career best scores.

The Melissa Fender award went to Brianna Carlberg. The award is given to the student-athlete that is most proud of her school, proud to wear the school colors and proud to be a member of the swimming and diving team. The award also characterizes some who knows the traditions and cheers and can get the team fired up as well as also understanding the importance of a receiving a good education.

The Cyclone Relay Swimmer award went to Sarah Norris, who earned the award for the second year in a row, as a member of Iowa State’s top 200 medley relay and 200 freestyle relay teams.

The Kerry O’Brien Award, which goes to the Cyclone who demonstrates the commitment to improve to a national championship level, went to junior Imelda Wistey. Wistey posted a NCAA “B” cut and new Cyclone record in the 100 breaststroke clocking in with a time of 1:01.35. The junior also sits third for the squad in the 200 breaststroke and fourth in the 200 IM.

Hayley Krzeczowski and Megan Cohea each won the Strength and Condition Awards. The award goes to the student-athlete who dedicates themselves in dry-land training and in the weight room to achieve the strength and endurance to compete at a championship level.

Jessica Henderson, Alex Gustafson and Emily Wiltsie were named captains for the 2013-14 season.
More on Swimming & Diving
The Team
Head Swimming coach Duane Sorenson
Coaching Staff | Roster | History

Weekly Release

Beyer Pool

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Diving Camp | Swimming Camp
For Recruits | Diving Questionnaire | Swimming Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song