Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Iowa State Honors Its Best In The Classroom

Release: 04/14/2014
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State Academic Services held its annual Scholar-Athlete Banquet Monday night in Hilton Coliseum, highlighting and honoring over 140 Cyclone student-athletes for their determination and accomplishments in the classroom.

The following student-athletes were recognized for achieving the highest GPA in their respective sports: Jessica Reyes (soccer), Bria Rasmussen (volleyball), Collin Foster (men’s golf), Anna Holtermann (women’s track & field), Imelda Wistey (swimming and diving), Taylor McDowell (women’s cross country), Elly Arganbright (women’s basketball), Jan Jeuschede (men’s track & field), Michelle Shealy (gymnastics), Cajsa Persson (women’s golf), Martin Coolidge (men’s cross country), Grant Rohach (football), Melvin Ejim (men’s basketball), Jorden Spendlove (softball), Meghan Cassens (tennis) and Gabe Moreno (wrestling).

“We are extremely proud of this year’s Cyclone Scholar-Athletes and thrilled to honor all 143 of them at this year’s banquet,” said Patrice Feulner, ISU’s Assistant Athletics Director for Academic Services.  “ISU student-athletes work extremely hard in the classroom and are excelling at a very high level academically, which they deserve to be recognized for. This academic year alone, 76 student-athletes were named Academic All-Big 12 and both Hallie Christofferson and Melvin Ejim earned Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-America honors. This is a crucial component in what it means to be a Cyclone Student-Athlete and ISU Academic Services will continue to work hard to challenge our student-athletes to compete in all areas of their life.”

The men’s golf team picked up a pair of awards, winning the Cyclones Service Award for most team community service hours accumulated. The men’s golfers shared the Team GPA Award with the women’s cross country team for posting the highest team grade point average.

The Norm Boyles Award, given annually to a faculty member who has made a sustained contribution to the welfare of Iowa State student-athletes, was awarded to Kathleen Timmons. Timmons has been an academic advisor for the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences since 1978.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Above and Beyond Award was given to Molly Parrott for her exemplary support to Iowa State student-athletes. Parrott spent four years as ISU’s Student-Athlete Affairs Coordinator before taking a position at the ISU Foundation.

The Iowa State Letterwinners Club recognized All-Americans Melvin Ejim (men’s basketball) and Hallie Christofferson (women’s basketball) as recipients of the All-Around Award. The award is presented to one male and one female Cyclone student-athlete in recognition of significant athletic contribution, academic excellence, leadership and participation in community service throughout their respective careers at Iowa State.

Ejim, the 2014 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, earned All-America honors from a number of services, including a spot on the Associated Press’ second-team. Ejim became just the second men’s basketball player in school history to earn Capital One/CoSIDA First-Team Academic All-America honors, joining his head coach Fred Hoiberg as winners of the prestigious award.

Christofferson, an All-Big First-Team selection in 2014, was named Third-Team Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American.

The Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarhip was awarded to Sarah Norris (swimming and diving) and Jeff Woody (football).

Academic Services also recognized the 30 newest members of Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Society for maintaining a 3.40 or higher cumulative GPA into their junior or senior year.

2013-14 Iowa State Scholar-Athletes
Jared Weaver, Grant Rohach, Luke Knott, Mitchell Meyers, Brian Seda, Daniel Burton, Mitchell Harger, Jacob Gannon, Kyle Lichtenberg, Wes Boyer, Kane Seeley, Jeff Woody, Charlie Forey, Jamison Lalk, Shawn Curtis, Cole Netten, James White, Matthew Thomas, Mitch Amundson, Alton Meeks, Kirby Van Der Kamp

Men’s Golf
Collin Foster, Duncan Croudis, Sam Daley, Blake Waller, Zach Steffen

Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country
Jan Jeuschede, Martin Coolidge, Tyler Jermann, Taylor Sanderson, Mo Hrezi, Alex Dillenbeck, Henry Kelley, Chris Alvarez, Jacob Aune, Ivan Tamba, Brandon Barnes, Josh Heitkamp, Nicholas Schulze

Gabe Moreno, Adam Knier, Boaz Beard, R.J. Hallman, Kyven Gadson

Jorden Spendlove, Sara Davison, Sarah Hawryluk, Aly Cappaert, Maddie Reese, Liana Henry, Brittany Gomez, Sara Rice

Women’s Basketball
Elly Arganbright, Hallie Christofferson, Anna Prins, Brynn Williamson, Ashley Hagedorn

Men’s Basketball
Melvin Ejim, Tyler Ellerman, Bubu Palo, Sherron Dorsey-Walker

Michelle Shealy, Sammie Pearsall, Caitlin Brown, Kristen DeCosta, Henrietta Green, Sara Townsend, Megan McDonald, Alex Marasco, Camille Santerre-Gervais, Annie Glasenapp, Hailey Johnson

Simona Cacciuttolo, Nikki Reber, Meghan Cassens, Ana Gasparovic, Emma Waites, Caroline Andersen

Women’s Golf
Cajsa Persson, Prima Thammaraks, Katie Gustafson, Chonlada Chayanun, Sasikarn On-iam

Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country
Anna Holtermann, Christina Hillman, Morgan Casey, Taylor McDowell, Bethany Olson, Krista Shoeman, Colleen Riley, Katy Moen, Kristen Henson, Jessica Nichols, Maggie Gannon, Andrea Toppin, Kayla Sanborn, Maddie Nagle, Bree Woelber, Samantha Bluske, Julie Wiemerslage, Hannah Willms, Kaci Storm, Kelly McCoy, Dana Christensen

Swimming & Diving
Sarah Norris, Marley Dobyns, Imelda Wistey, Elizabeth Kleiner, Maria Gannon, Sarah Deis, Alex Flatness, Bre Loeschke, Ali Stearns, Kristy Kunkel, Marissa Engel, April Long, Amanda Paulson, Alex Gustafson, Katie Vollhaber

Hannah Johnson, Bria Rasmussen, Natalie Vondrak, Morgan Kuhrt, Kristen Hahn, Taylor Goetz, Mackenzie Bigbee, Victoria Hurtt, Caitlin Nolan, Tenisha Matlock

Jessica Reyes, Andrea Swanson, Hayley Womack, Alyssa Williamson, Meredith Skitt, Maggie Bruckman, Margaret Powers, Maddie Jobe, Lindsay Frank, Theresa Kucera, Emily Goldstein, Erin Green, Mia McAleer

More on Swimming & Diving
The Team
Head Swimming coach Duane Sorenson
Coaching Staff | Roster | History

Weekly Release

Beyer Pool

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Diving Camp | Swimming Camp
For Recruits | Diving Questionnaire | Swimming Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song