Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Three Iowa Staters Advance to Big 12 Finals

Release: 03/03/2012
Print RSS
More from

COLUMBIA,  Mo. – Iowa State wrestlers Andrew Sorenson (165), Boaz Beard (184) and Matt Gibson (HWT) advanced to the championship round of the Big 12 Conference Wrestling Championships Saturday in the Hearnes Center. Heading into Saturday night’s finals, Missouri leads the team scoring with 61 points, Oklahoma is second with 56.5, followed by Oklahoma State (56) and Iowa State (21).

Iowa State has thus far qualified four wrestlers automatically for the NCAA Championships, March 15-17 in St. Louis, Mo. Ryak Finch (125) Sorenson, Beard and Gibson have already punched their ticket to the national championships. Luke Goettl (141) is a possible wildcard recipient.

Sorenson scored a takedown at the buzzer of the third period to beat Oklahoma State’s Dallas Bailey in their semifinal match. Sorenson had taken several shots and nearly completed several takedowns while Bailey played a defensive game. The last-second move pushed Sorenson (26-1) into the final round, which will start at 6:30 p.m. CST and be televised by Fox Sports Net.

Beard scored a takedown in the overtime period to beat Erich Schmidtke of Oklahoma, 8-6. Gibson was the aggressor throughout his heavyweight semifinal and had riding time in his favor as a 2-1 winner.

Iowa State took a major hit when 174-pounder Chris Spangler injury defaulted out of the tournament after one match.

Semi-Finals Results
125 pounds:
Jarrod Patterson (OU) beat Ryak Finch (IS), 5-4 SV
Alan Waters (MO) beat Jon Morrison (OSU), 2-0

133 pounds:
Jordan Oliver (OSU) pinned Shayden Terukina (ISU), 4:50
Nathan McCormick (MO) beat Jordan Keller (OU), 4-2

141 pounds:
Kendric Maple (OU) beat Nick Hucke (M), 4-0
Josh Kindig (OSU) beat Luke Goettl (IS) by major decision, 12-4

149 pounds:
Jamal Parks (OSU) beat Joe Cozart (ISU), 8-3
Kyle Bradley (MO) beat Nick Lester (OU), 2-0

157 pounds:
Matt Lester (OU) beat Michael Moreno (ISU), 2-0
Drake Houdashelt (MO) beat Albert White (OSU), 2-1 OT TB1 

165 pounds:
Andrew Sorenson (ISU) beat Dallas Bailey (OSU), 3-1
Zach Toal (MO) beat Patrick Graham (OU), 3-2 

174 pounds:
Chris Perry (OSU) pinned Kyle Detmer (OU), 6:16
Dorian Henderson (MO) beat Chris Spangler, 2-1  SV, TB1

184 pounds:
Mike Larson (MO) beat Chris McNeil (OSU), 7-6
Boaz Beard (ISU) beat Erich Schmidtke (OU), 8-6 SV

197 pounds:
Cayle Byers (OSU) beat Jerome Ward (ISU), 5-3 SV
Brent Haynes (MO) beat Keldrick Hall (OU), 6-2

Matt Gibson (ISU) beat Kyle Colling (OU), 2-1
Austin Marsden (OSU) beat Devin Mellon (MO), 3-1


Third-place Matches:
125 pounds:
Jon Morrison (OSU) dec. Ryak Finch, (ISU), 4-1

133 pounds:
Jordan Keller (OU) mdec. Shayden Terukina ,(ISU), 10-0

141 pounds:
Nickolas Hucke (MU) mdec. Luke Goettl (ISU), 9-0

149 pounds:
Nick Lester (OU) won by technical fall over Joe Cozart (ISU), 16-1, 3:30

157 pounds:
Albert White (OSU)  mdec. Michael Moreno (ISU), 15-4

165 pounds:
Patrick Graham (OU) major decisioned Dallas Bailey (OSU), 9-1

174 pounds:
Kyle Detmer (OU) won by injury default over Chris Spangler (ISU)

184 pounds:
Erich Schmidtke (OU) beat Chris McNeil (OSU), 3-2

197 pounds:
Keldrick Hall (OU) beat Jerome Ward (ISU), 4-2, SV2

HWT pounds:
Kyle Colling (OU) won by injury default over Devin Mellon (MU) 

More on Wrestling
The Team
Head coach Kevin Jackson | Coaching Staff
Roster | History | Big 12 Standings
| Weekly Release

Hilton Coliseum

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
100 Years of Wrestling | Archives | Camps
Cyclone Wrestling Club | For Recruits
Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song