Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Reader Named Top Wrestler at Banquet

Release: 03/27/2011
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa Iowa State NCAA 174-pound champion Jon Reader reaped the awards of a remarkable 39-0 season, being named the Cyclones’  Most Outstanding Wrestler at the 2011 Iowa State wrestling banquet Sunday at Johnny’s in Hilton Coliseum. Reader, who beat Stanford’s Nick Amuchastegui, 10-3 in the weight’s championship match, March 19, finished his career as a three-time All-American with a career record of 124-23.

Reader was also honored with the Dr. Wise Burroughs Leadership Award and an NCAA Champion award. The most improved award went to heavyweight Kyle Simonson. The junior from Algona qualified for the NCAA Championships, posting a 26-10 record.

Cole Shafer was named the team’s Freshman of the Year after qualifying for the NCAA Championships. Junior Andrew Sorenson of Woden was given the Total Commitment Award after posting a 16-5 record and being ranked nationally before an injury ended his season as a starter at 165 pounds.
The Academic Award went to senior Chris Drouin and freshman Brandon Jones. Jones, from West Des Moines, was the Cyclones’ starter at 125 pounds.

Iowa State wrestling supporter Jim McCullough was honored with the Cyclone Award in appreciation for his outstanding contribution and dedication to Iowa State wrestling.  Jeff Murphy received the Outstanding Supporter Award in appreciation for going above and beyond in his support of Iowa State wrestling.

Iowa State’s four seniors were recognized. All will have graduated by the end of the spring 2011 semester. Nate Carr Jr., will earn his bachelor’s degree in marketing. Heavyweight Kyle Slifka will earn his bachelor’s degree in criminal justice. Drouin had already graduated from Arizona State before he transferred to Iowa State. Reader will earn his degree in business management.
Iowa State’s letterwinners for the 2010-2011 season were Carr, Cash, Tyler Christensen, Trevor Dearden, Drouin, Matt Gibson, Phil Hawes, Jones, Max Mayfield, Reader, Matt Riley, Dan Schrock, Shafer, Simonson, Slifka, Sorenson, Chris Spangler, Jerome Ward and Trent Weatherman.

More on Wrestling
The Team
Head coach Kevin Jackson | Coaching Staff
Roster | History | Big 12 Standings
| Weekly Release

Hilton Coliseum

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Inside Iowa State
100 Years of Wrestling | Archives | Camps
Cyclone Wrestling Club | For Recruits
Recruiting Questionnaire

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song