Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Hahn Wins Third-Straight Big 12 Libero of the Year

Release: 12/02/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from
AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State volleyball team picked up a variety of awards from the Big 12 today. Kristen Hahn led the way by earning her third-straight Big 12 Libero of the Year award and being a unanimous selection to the All-Big 12 First Team. Mackenzie Bigbee was also a unanimous selection for the All-Big 12 First Team. Victoria Hurtt and Tenisha Matlock earned All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors. Ciara Capezio a unanimous choice to the Big 12 All-Freshman Team.

Hahn has continued Iowa State’s streak of producing the best libero in the Big 12 as her third-consecutive Big 12 Libero of the Year award marks the sixth consecutive year the Cyclones have won the award. Hahn joins Ashley Mass (2007-10) as the only Libero to be named a three-time Libero of the Year and her unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selection means Hahn and Mass are the only two liberos in Big 12 history to be named to the First Team twice. Hahn is the first libero in conference history to be a unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selection twice. Hahn leads the Big 12 and ranks third nationally with her 5.73 digs per set. She is only 38 digs away from her third-straight season with at least 600 digs. Hahn holds the school record for most consecutive matches with at least 10 digs (66), most career matches with 20 digs (48) and most career matches with 30 digs (eight).

Bigbee has been one of the most consistent hitters in the Big 12 this season, constantly being near the top of the league in kills per set. This season, Bigbee has 315 kills at 3.25 kills per set at a .255 hitting percentage. The sophomore has had her sensational season in attack all while adjusting to a new role playing in all six rotations. Bigbee had 129 digs at 1.33 digs per set. Bigbee was the 2012 Big 12 Freshman of the Year and was a unanimous choice to last season’s All-Freshman Team.

Hurtt continues to be one of Iowa State’s top options in attack. A 2012 All-Big 12 First Team selection, Hurtt is averaging 2.49 kills per set this season. The junior is beginning to find her way into some of Iowa State’s career lists, as she ranks 11th in school history with 2.72 kills per set in her career, 19th in ISU history with a career .220 hitting percentage and 25th in school history with 759 career kills.

Matlock save her best performances for her final season as a Cyclone. The senior, who earned her first career post-season honor from the Big 12, is averaging a career-best 2.21 kills per set at a .314 hitting percentage. If Matlock can finish the season hitting .300, she will join Jamie Straube as the only Cyclones in program history to have two seasons with an over .300 hitting percentage to her name. Matlock currently sits third in Iowa State history with her career hitting percentage of .294. She was named the MVP of the North Dakota Classic back in August.

Capezio has had one of the top freshman seasons in Iowa State history. The Williams Bay, Wis. native is the sixth Cyclone to earn All-Freshman Team honors and of the other five only Bigbee was also a unanimous choice. Capezio is second on the team with her 263 kills at 2.71 kills per set. She has been one of the top all rotations players in the league as she also averages 2.38 digs per set. Capezio has been an important cog to Iowa State boasting the best service game in the Big 12 as she ranks third in the Big 12 with her 32 aces at 0.33 per set. Among freshmen in school history Capezio ranks fifth for kills in her freshman season, tied for fifth in service aces, seventh in points (314.5) and ninth in digs.

Iowa State will be playing in its eighth-consecutive NCAA Volleyball Championship this weekend. The Cyclones travel to Minneapolis to the Sports Pavilion to take on Colorado at 4:30 p.m. on Friday. If Iowa State wins, they will play the winner of Radford-Minnesota at 7 p.m. on Saturday.

2013 Big 12 Awards
Player of the Year - Haley Eckerman, Texas
Setter of the Year - Erin McNorton, Kansas
Libero of the Year - Kristen Hahn, Iowa State
Freshman of the Year - Chiaka Ogbogu, Texas
Coach of the Year - Ray Bechard, Kansas

All-Big 12 First Team
Mackenzie Bigbee, Iowa State^
Kristen Hahn, Iowa State^
Chelsea Albers, Kansas
Caroline Jarmoc, Kansas
Sara McClinton, Kansas
Erin McNorton, Kansas^
Kaitlynn Pelger, Kansas State
Sallie McLaurin, Oklahoma^
Yvonne Igodan, TCU
Khat Bell, Texas
Haley Eckerman, Texas^
Chiaka Ogbogu, Texas
Molly McCage, Texas
Bailey Webster, Texas^

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention
Zoe Adom, Baylor
Victoria Hurtt, Iowa State
Tenisha Matlock, Iowa State
Kelia Rodriguez, Oklahoma
Rachel Brummitt, Texas Tech
Jordan Anderson, West Virginia

All-Freshman Team
Ciara Capezio, Iowa State^
Tayler Soucie, Kansas^
Katie Brand, Kansas State^
Madison Ward, Oklahoma
Chiaka Ogbogu, Texas^
Jordan Anderson, West Virginia

^Unanimous Selection
More on Volleyball
The Team
Head coach Christy Johnson-Lynch | Coaching Staff
Roster | Big 12 Standings
| Weekly Release

Inside Iowa State Volleyball

Hilton Coliseum

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Historical Information

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Camps | CYd-Out Crew | For Recruits

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song