Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Awards Banquet Caps 2013-14 Wrestling Season

Release: 04/27/2014
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa – The annual Iowa State wrestling awards banquet officially wrapped up the 2013-14 season Sunday afternoon at Heartland Hall. All-Americans Kyven Gadson and Michael Moreno were the co-recipients of the Outstanding Wrestler Award for the second consecutive season.

The All-American duo is a combined 122-28 the past two seasons on the mat. Gadson and Moreno also were the co-recipients of the Dr. Wise Burroughs Leadership Award, handed out to the wrestler who best demonstrates leadership to his team on and off the mat.

NCAA-qualifier Gabe Moreno received the Outstanding Academic Award for having the highest cumulative GPA on the team. Moreno qualified for the NCAA Championships with a runner-up finish at the conference tournament, which featured a 9-4 upset of top-seeded Colin Johnston of West Virginia in the opening round.

Big 12 champion Lelund Weatherspoon took home the Total Commitment Award. The Jackson, Mich. native finished his freshman season 25-12 overall. He went 1-2 at the NCAA Championships.

All-American Earl Hall took home the Freshman of the Year Award after reaching the podium at the NCAA Championships in his first collegiate season. The Homestead, Fla. native became just the second 125-pound All-American in program history since the weight class changes in 1999.

Seniors Boaz Beard, Ben Perna and John Nicholson were each presented with a framed Cyclone wrestling singlet.

Outstanding Wrestler – Kyven Gadson and Michael Moreno
Outstanding Academic Award – Gabe Moreno
Total Commitment Award – Lelund Weatherspoon
Outstanding Citizen Award – Tanner Weatherman
Dr. Wise Burroughs Leadership Award – Kyven Gadson and Michael Moreno
Freshman of the Year Award – Earl Hall
Most Improved Award – Quean Smith
Academic Award (had a fall semester GPA of 3.5 or above, member of the Academic All-Big 12 team, or received Academic All-America honors) – Duke Egli, Kyven Gadson, Kyle Larson & Gabe Moreno
Great Cyclone Award – Tom Kroeschell
Outstanding Supporter Award – Todd Hunt

More on Volleyball
The Team
Head coach Christy Johnson-Lynch | Coaching Staff
Roster | Big 12 Standings
| Weekly Release

Inside Iowa State Volleyball

Hilton Coliseum

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Historical Information

Inside Iowa State
Archives | Camps | CYd-Out Crew | For Recruits

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song