Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Iowa State, Tyrus McGee Makes History

Release: 04/09/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State’s successful 2012-13 men’s basketball campaign produced a number of lasting memories for Cyclone fans. With its high-octane offense, which ranked third nationally (79.4), Iowa State earned its second-straight NCAA Tournament berth and 23-win season. It was a great year to be a Cyclone hoops fan.

The Cyclones also accomplished a historical feat this past season. In its 106-year history of men’s hoops, an Iowa State team or player had never led the nation in a statistical category. Not anymore.

Iowa State ended the season as the nation’s leader in 3-pointers per game, averaging 9.9 3-pointers per game while making an NCAA season-high 346 treys. That total ties for 14th all-time in NCAA history.

Iowa State was blessed with a number of sharpshooters who could stretch the defense and knocked down shots from the perimeter. A total of six Cyclones made 24 3-pointers or more, but nobody was more lethal from beyond the arc than senior Tyrus McGee.

A native of Stringtown, Okla., McGee drilled 96 3-pointers and became the first Cyclone individual to lead the nation in a statistical category by connecting on 46.4 percent (96-207 3FG) of his shots from downtown. The senior ended his career by making 43.7 percent of his 3-point attempts, the second-best clip in school history, and his 96 treys is the third-best season total in school history.

McGee finally broke through to take the nation’s top spot in a statistical department where other Cyclones fell just short. Listed below is a quick look where other Cyclones ranked in the top-20 in the final NCAA statistics.

1967- Zaid Abdul-Aziz, 24.8 (14th)
1968- Zaid Abdul-Aziz, 24.2 (18th)
1975- Hercle Ivy, 28.3 (5th)
1988- Jeff Grayer, 25.3 (8th)
2000- Marcus Fizer, 22.8 (8th)

1970- Bill Cain, 15.2 (16th)
1978- Dean Uthoff, 14.0 (3rd)

2000- Jamaal Tinsley, 6.6 (16th)
2006- Will Blalock, 6.1 (10th)
2011- Diante Garrett, 6.1 (11th)

2001- Jamaal Tinsley, 2.5 (20th)

1996- Kelvin Cato, 2.6 (20th)
1997- Kelvin Cato, 4.2 (5th)

Field Goal Percentage
1991- Victor Alexander, 65.9% (9th)
2000- Marcus Fizer, 58.2% (18th)

Free-Throw Percentage
1989- Mike Born, 87.9% (12th)
2002- Jake Sullivan, 90.0% (5th)
2004- Jake Sullivan, 93.3% (3rd)
2012- Scott Christopherson, 90.3% (3rd)

3-Point Field Goal Percentage
1997- Dedric Willoughby, 45.1% (17th)
2011- Scott Christopherson, 44.1% (11th)
2013- Tyrus McGee, 46.4% (1st)

3-Point Field Goals
1997- Dedric Willoughby, 3.8 (4th)

More on Men's Basketball
The Team
Head coach Steve Prohm
Coaching Staff | Roster | Big 12 Standings
Weekly Release

Big 12 On Television FAQ

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Hilton Coliseum
Sukup Basketball Practice Facility

Historical Information
Archives | Encyclopedia
Records | Results | Tradition

Inside Iowa State
Camps | Cyclone Alley | For Recruits

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Sweet Caroline