Jack Trice Stadium Expansion Project
Football Gameday Social Experience
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Garrett Named All-District By The USBWA

Courtesy: cyclones.com
Release: 03/11/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links
More from Cyclones.tv

USBWA All-District Teams

ST. LOUIS - Iowa State senior guard Diante Garrett was named to the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District VI team, announced today by the USBWA.

Garrett's district consists of the best players in the states of Iowa, Missouri, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. Kansas' Marcus Morris was named District VI Player of the Year.

A native of Milwaukee, Wis., Garrett had a sensational season for the Cyclones, ranking in the top-100 nationally in scoring (17.3 ppg), assists (6.1) and steals (1.7). Garrett ranks 10th nationally and led the Big 12 in assists this season at 6.1 apg, the first Cyclone to top the Big 12 in assists since Jacy Holloway in 1997.

Garrett, who is one of three players in Big 12 history to amass 1,300 points and 600 assists in a career, is just one of two players in the nation to average over 17.0 points and 6.0 assists.

It marks the third season in a row where the Cyclones had a player represented on the USBWA All-District squad. Current Philadelphia 76er Craig Brackins was an all-district selection in 2009 and 2010.

More on Men's Basketball
The Team
Head coach Fred Hoiberg | Coaching Staff
Roster | Big 12 Standings | Weekly Release

Big 12 On Television FAQ

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Hilton Coliseum
Sukup Basketball Practice Facility

Historical Information
Archives | Encyclopedia
Records | Results | Tradition

Inside Iowa State
Camps | Cyclone Alley | For Recruits
Hilton Magic | Inside MBB Video

South End Zone webcam
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Cy's Pets of the Week
2:00 Timeout
U.S. Cellular Text the Coach
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song