Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

13 Personal Records Highlight Cyclones' Saturday

Release: 05/03/2014
Print RSS
More from

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Iowa State student-athletes notched a total of 12 personal records, Saturday, competing at the Jace Lacoste Invitational and Iowa Musco Twilight. The Cyclones also notched five event titles on the evening.

Jace Lacoste Invitational
The Cyclones notched 10 personal bests at Mississippi State’s Jace Lacoste Invitational, as well as event victories by Ese Okoro (400H), Kelly McCoy (HJ), Christina Hillman (SP) and Jan Jeuschede (SP).

In the 200-meter dash, Mark Sitek led the group with a third-place finish, crossing the line in 21.20 seconds. The performance is the fastest by a Cyclone in the event this season. Ivan Tamba (4th) and Jared Ingram (6th) both notched personal bests in the race, clocking it at 21.37 and 21.67, respectively.

In the 100-meter hurdles, Bree Woelber notched her third PR of the season with a time of 14.27 seconds. Woelber has improved her mark in each of her last three races. On the men’s side, Ryan Sander clocked a personal-best of his own at 14.29 seconds in the 110m-hurdles. The time is the fastest run by a Cyclone since 2001.

Iowa State swept the shot put, picking up victories on both the men’s and women’s side of competition. Christina Hillman took first in women’s competition with a throw of 55’03.75”, while Jan Jeuschede threw a mark of 60’09.25” for the event title. Jeuschede’s mark is the farthest of his career, besting his previous mark by one-quarter inch. With the performance, Jeuschede also moves up to fourth on Iowa State’s all-time top-10 list in the event.

Ese Okoro continued her strong season in the 400-meter hurdles, winning the event by nearly 3 seconds. Okoro clocked her second sub-57 second performance of the season with a time of 56.93 seconds. Derek Jones moved his name up a spot on the men’s all-time list after a 51.65-second PR in the men’s section of the 400m-hurdles. Jones placed third overall and is now ranked ninth in program history, passing Mark Eversden.

Kelly McCoy took the win in the women’s high jump, clearing a height of 5’08.75” inches. McCoy finished one height shy of a new personal-best in the event.

Kendra White notched her fastest time of the season in the 400-meter dash. White finished second overall behind a 53.97-second performance. The St. Louis, Mo., native was just 0.14 seconds off of her personal best in the event (53.83).

100m (M): 1) Diondre Batson, Alabama, 10.04; 4) Jared Ingram, Iowa State, 10.72w; 6) Ivan Tamba, Iowa State, 10.77
200m (W): 1) Dominique Kimpel, Alabama, 23.55; 16) Bree Woelber, Iowa State, 26.25
200m (M): 1) Dante Price, Virginia Tech, 20.91; 3) Mark Sitek, Iowa State, 21.20w; 4) Ivan Tamba, Iowa State, 21.37w; 6) Jared Ingram, Iowa State, 21.67
400m (W): 1) Althia Maximillien, Mississippi State, 53.48; 2) Kendra White, Iowa State, 53.97; 8) Dana Christensen, Iowa State, 56.99
400m (M): 1) Dwight Davis, Alabama, 47.17; 5) Jacob Hoogensen, Iowa State, 50.52;
100H : 1) Erica Bougard, Unattached, 13.39; 8) Bree Woelber, Iowa State, 14.27w
110H: 1) Javon Davis, Mississippi State, 14.14; 2) Ryan Sander, Iowa State, 14.29
400H (W): 1) Ese Okoro, Iowa State, 56.93; 4) Krista Shoeman, Iowa State, 1:01.15
400H (M): 1) Scottie Hearn, Mississippi State, 51.04; 3) Derek Jones, Iowa State, 51.65; 5) Kris Brander, Iowa State, 54.17; 7) Trey Achterhoff, Iowa State, 55.39
4x100m (M): 1) Alabama, 39.65; 2) Iowa State, 41.02
4x400m (M): 1) Alabama, 3:07.61; 3) Iowa State, 3:14.65
High Jump (W): 1) Kelly McCoy, Iowa State, 5’8.75”
Long Jump (W): Rochelle Farquharson, Mississippi State, 20’10.50”; 10) Bree Woelber, Iowa State, 17’00.75”
Triple Jump (M): 1) Jason Harper, Unattached, 50’4.50”; 5) Kevin Poster, Iowa State, 45’02.25”
Shot Put (W): 1) Christina Hillman, Iowa State, 55’3.75”
Shot Put (M): 1) Jan Jeuschede, Iowa State, 60’9.50”
Discus (W): 1) Alexandra Morgan, Oklahoma, 163’11”; 4) Christina Hillman, Iowa State, 154’07”
Hammer Throw (W): 1) Nia Barnes, Alabama, 192’05”; 2) Kayla Sanborn, Iowa State, 183’05”; 3) Anna Holtermann, Iowa State, 174’08”
Hammer Throw (M): 1) Charodd Richardson, 213’06”; 3) Henry Kelley, 182’02”
Javelin (W): 1) Erica Bougard, Unattached, 116’06”; 2) Bree Woelber, 109’04”

Musco Twilight
Andrea Toppin notched Iowa State’s lone event title at the Iowa Musco Twilight, taking the win in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. Toppin broke the tape in 11:02.35. Heidi Engelhardt finished second behind Toppin, crossing the line in 11:11.49. Engelhardt’s time is good for the seventh-fastest performance in program history, while Toppin’s PR of 10:43.78 (2013) is good for third.

Mark Johnson notched a career best in the long jump, leaping a distance of 23 feet, 6 inches. Johnson was coming off a 23’4.75” performance at the Drake Relays, which equaled his previous best. Johnson eclipsed the mark today, hitting the distance on his second attempt.

Kaci Storm notched a personal record in the 100-meter hurdles. Storm posted a time of 14.87 seconds, breaking her previous mark by 0.18 seconds.

100m (W): 1) Brittany Brown, Iowa, 11.62; 10) Jessica Nichols, Iowa State, 12.30
200m (W): 1) Brittany Brown, Iowa, 24.40; 9) Jessica Nichols, Iowa State, 25.51
400m (W): 1) Megan Geyen, Minnesota, 54.32; 10) Britney Williams, Iowa State, 58.35; 11) Emily Toennies, Iowa State, 58.56
800m (W): 1) Bethany Praska, Unattached, 2:05.88; 8) Maryn Lowry, Iowa State, 2:13.98
800m (M): 1) Joe McAsey, Illinois, 1:50.02; 8) Joe Gioielli, Iowa State, 1:52.04; 15) Brandon Barnes, Iowa State, 1:54.84
1,500m (W): 1) Maggie Bollig, Minnesota, 4:30.42; 14) Maddie Nagle, Iowa State, 4:46.88
3,000m (W): 1) Kelli Budd, Minnesota, 9:40.65; 6) Anna Buenneke, Iowa State, 10:15.66; 12) Kristen Henson, Iowa State, 10:35.04; 13) Julie Wiemerslage, Iowa State, 10:38.46; 14) Bethany Olson, Iowa State, 11:08.34
100H: 1) Christine MacNeill, UNI, 14.03; 10) Kaci Storm, Iowa State, 14.87
400H (W): 1) Ellie Grooters, Nebraska, 57.62; 5) Kaci Storm, Iowa State, 1:06.38
3,000m-stp (W): 1) Andrea Toppin, Iowa State, 11:02.35; 2) Heidi, Englehardt, Iowa State, 11:11.49
4x100m (W): 1) Nebraska, 45.58; 4) Iowa State, 48.01
Long Jump (M): 1) Travis Englund, Nebraska, 23’11.75”; 4) Mark Johnson, Iowa State, 23’06”

Cyclone PRs
*Ryan Sander (110H): 14.29
*Derek Jones (400H): 51.65
*Christina Hillman (DT): 154’07”
*Jan Jeuschede (SP): 60'09.50"
*Anna Holtermann (HT): 174’08”
*Ivan Tamba (100m): 10.77
*Ivan Tamba (200m): 21.37w
*Jared Ingram (200m): 21.67
*Jared Ingram (100m): 10.72w
*Bree Woelber (200m): 26.25
*Bree Woelber (100H): 14.27w
*Kaci Storm (100H): 14.87
*Mark Johnson (LJ): 23’06”

More on Men's Basketball
The Team
Head coach Steve Prohm
Coaching Staff | Roster | Big 12 Standings
Weekly Release

Big 12 On Television FAQ

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Hilton Coliseum
Sukup Basketball Practice Facility

Historical Information
Archives | Encyclopedia
Records | Results | Tradition

Inside Iowa State
Camps | Cyclone Alley | For Recruits

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song