Jack Trice Stadium Expansion Project
Football Gameday Social Experience
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Iowa State Earns Multiple All-Big 12 Honors

Courtesy: cyclones.com
Release: 12/07/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links

AMES, Iowa - Iowa State juniors A.J. Klein and Aaron Horne headlined the Cyclones honored by the Big 12 Conference Wednesday. Klein was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year and Horne was tabbed the Offensive Newcomer of the Year.  The Big 12's coaches selected the All-Big 12 teams and awards.

Klein had 101 tackles and a pair of sacks in 2011. The junior returned an interception 78 yards for touchdown, his third career return for score.  The Kimberly, Wis., native also notched a pair of sacks, five pass breakups, three quarterback hurries and 7.5 tackles for loss in 2011.

Horne averaged 11.7 yards per catch with a long of 57.  The junior wide receiver took over kickoff and punt return duties in conference play and went on to average the most yards per kick return in league play.  The Oakland, Calif., native recorded 33 receptions and had a key 33-yard rush for touchdown in the Cyclones' win over Kansas.

"We are thrilled that A.J. and Aaron have been singled out for their great seasons," Iowa State head football coach Paul Rhoads said. "To earn all-league honors in the Big 12 is one the highest praises you can receive in college football."

Senior Kelechi Osemele joined Klein on the All-Big 12 first team.  The offensive lineman from Houston, Texas started all 12 games at left tackle for the Cyclones in 2011.

Seniors Hayworth Hicks and Leonard Johnson were joined by junior linebacker Jake Knott on the All-Big 12 second team.  Hicks, an offensive lineman from Palmdale, Calif., started the final 11 games at right guard for the Cyclones.  Johnson, a senior cornerback from Clearwater, Fla., notched 68 tackles, seven pass breakups, three fumble recoveries and had a key interception in the Cyclones' upset of No. 2 Oklahoma State.  Knott, a linebacker from Waukee, Iowa, had a team-high 107 tackles for Iowa State in 2011 while registering two interceptions and three forced fumbles.

Knott and Johnson received All-Big 12 second-team honors in 2010. Klein is the first Cyclone to earn Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Freshman quarterback Jared Barnett, senior defensive lineman Jake Lattimer, sophomore punter Kirby Van Der Kamp and sophomore running back James White received honorable mention accolades.

More on Men's Basketball
The Team
Head coach Fred Hoiberg | Coaching Staff
Roster | Big 12 Standings | Weekly Release

Big 12 On Television FAQ

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Hilton Coliseum
Sukup Basketball Practice Facility

Historical Information
Archives | Encyclopedia
Records | Results | Tradition

Inside Iowa State
Camps | Cyclone Alley | For Recruits
Hilton Magic | Inside MBB Video

South End Zone webcam
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Cy's Pets of the Week
2:00 Timeout
U.S. Cellular Text the Coach
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song