Due to the overwhelming interest and strong fields that have committed to the 2016 Iowa State Classic, entries are now closed.

Additional entry requests will be evaluated on an individual basis. All requests should be forwarded to the following email address for review. (iowastateclassic@gmail.com).

About the Iowa State Classic

The Iowa State Classic is the longest running track and field meet hosted by Iowa State University. The event has consistently produced NCAA qualifying performances, while attracting some of the nation’s top talent for over 20 years.

Over the past two years, the event has produced ten meet records and seven facility records, as well as numerous NCAA-qualifying marks. On both the Men’s and Women’s side, the 2015 edition produced nearly one-fourth of the eventual NCAA-championship field across the middle-distance and distance events.


2016 Iowa State Classic Field

Alabama (M&W)
Arizona State (M&W)
Arkansas (M)
Baylor (W)
Bradley (M&W)
Eastern Michigan (M&W)
Eastern Kentucky(M&W)
Furman (M&W)
Georgetown (W)
Georgia (M&W)
Illinois (M&W)
Iowa (M&W)
Iowa State (M&W)
Kansas (M&W)

Kentucky (M&W)
Louisville (M&W)
Loyola (M&W)
Michigan (M)
Minnesota (M&W)
Mississippi State (M&W)
North Carolina (M&W)
Northern Arizona (M&W)
Northern Iowa (M&W)
Notre Dame (M&W)
Oklahoma State (M&W)
Ole Miss (M&W)
Purdue (M&W)
Stanford (M&W)
Tulsa (M&W)
Virginia Tech (M&W)
Wisconsin (M&W)
Wyoming (M&W)

This year’s edition of the Iowa State Classic is again slated to feature top-tier athletes from both the collegiate and professional ranks. The elevated level of competition will make the meet one of the nation’s best as athletes look to punch their tickets for the NCAA Championships to be held March 12 13 in Birmingham, Alabama.

The marquee events from 2015 are highlighted below...

Men’s 800m: Six athletes sub-1:48.00 with Edward Kemboi’s winning time of 1:46.09 standing as the No. 1 performance in the NCAA. This race produced five of the top-seven times in the NCAA and featured three men that would go on to make the 800m final including the eventual NCAA Champion & NCAA Runner-Up.

Men’s 1 Mile: Eight athletes sub-4:00 across two sections including top collegian and eventual NCAA 1500m Champion Chad Noelle (3:57.78) who was nipped at the line by race winner Matt Elliott (3:57.36). This race produced four of the top-20 times in the NCAA, and over the past two years has led 15 men under the 4:00 barrier.

Men’s 5,000m: Eight athletes sub-13:50 and 14 athletes sub-14:00 to produce five of the top-16 times in the NCAA. The top-five collegians would all go on the qualify for the NCAA Championships and the race also served as the coming out party for now NCAA distance star and race winner Thomas Curtin (13:38.56).

Women’s 800m: Five athletes sub-2:06 with Bethany Praska’s 2:03.17 establishing a new meet and facility record in the process. Collegians produced three of the top-five times in the country and the race featured five women that would go on to qualify for NCAAs including three that would make the NCAA Championship final.

Women’s 1 Mile: An incredibly strong race at the front featured four athletes sub-4:40 with three of them running under 4:35. Heather Wilson’s winning 4:33.75 shattered an 11-year-old facility record. The race also featured two of the top-15 times in the country with both women going on to qualify for NCAAs.

Women’s 3,000m: One of the deepest races of the year featuring four of the top-20 times in the country and five women that would go on to qualify for NCAAs. Erin Teschuk’s winning 9:02.40 shattered the previous meet record and at the time was the No. 1 performance in the NCAA.

Meet information such as event entries, heat sheets, live results and Flocast will be updated continually, as the information and links are made available.To receive final results from the ISU Classic, contact Iowa State athletics communications’ Patrick Tarbox at pmtarbox@iastate.edu


Follow Along and Interact Using Social Media

Keep up with the meet’s action via Twitter and Facebook. Event winners and team standings will be tweeted out, while daily recaps will be posted to both platforms. Coaches, athletes and fans are encouraged to tweet pictures, results and comments about the meet using the hashtag #ISUClassic.

Be sure to follow @CycloneTrackXC on Twitter for updates on the 2016 Iowa State Classic.


Lied Recreation Athletic Center

The Lied Recreation Athletic Center is one of the nation’s finest indoor track and field facilities. The facility has hosted six Big 12 Indoor Championships and will be the host site through 2017.

Lied features a 300-meter track with eight 42-inch lanes, making it the largest and one of the fastest indoor surfaces in the world.


Parking Information

Public parking will be available in Lot 100, just south of the Lied Center. All parking will be on a first-come, first-serve basis. Parking for meet officials and working staff is located in Lot 57, west of the facility.


Live Webcast and Results

This year's Iowa State Classic will be broadcast live on Flotrack.com. The broadcast will be available to FloPro subscribers only. Subscriptions may be purchased on a monthly or yearly basis.

Live results will be provided by the Delta Timing Group. Delta provides live results for all track meets hosted by Iowa State.


Iowa State Classic General Information

>> Meet Information
>> Schedule
Accepted Entries
Heat Sheets
>> Final Results
>> Team Scores
>> Lied Recreation Center Homepage
>> Lied Rec / Harry Hoak Track Records
>> Iowa State Classic Records
>> Ames Hotel Information


Following the Meet

>> Live Results
>> Flotrack Live Broadcast ($)