Jack Trice Stadium Expansion Project
Football Gameday Social Experience
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Hillman, Thammaraks Earn Big 12 Scholar Honors

Courtesy: cyclones.com
Release: 06/18/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links
More from Cyclones.tv

AMES, Iowa – A pair of Iowa State student-athletes were named Big 12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year for their respective spring sports, the Big 12 Conference announced today.

Junior Christina Hillman was the Big 12’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for women’s track & field and senior Prima Thammaraks was the league’s top scholar for women’s golf.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be a junior or senior, have a cumulative GPA of 3.20 or higher and participate in at least 60 percent of the team’s scheduled contests.

Hillman, a native of Dover, Delaware, won the shot put titles at both the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Championships in 2014. She won the indoor national title on the farthest throw of 2014 by a collegiate athlete (59’6.75”) and captured the outdoor national title on a come-from-behind performance on her final throw of competition, becoming the Cyclones’ first NCAA champion in the event.

Hillman, who is a two-time First-Team Academic All-Big 12 selection, is the Iowa State record-holder in the shot put, both indoors and outdoors, and holds the 16 farthest throws in program history.

Thammaraks, a native of Bangkok, Thailand, was a four-year starter for the women’s golf team, helping the program qualify to four-straight NCAA Regionals and the 2014 NCAA Championships, the first appearance by a Cyclone team at the NCAA finals.

Thammaraks posted a 74.38 stroke average, the third-best season scoring mark in school history, while competing in every tournament in 2013-14. She ended the season ranked 135th nationally by Golfweek.

Thammaraks was a three-time First-Team Academic All-Big 12 honoree.

Hillman and Thammaraks join Melvin Ejim (men’s basketball) and Michelle Shealy (gymnastics) as Iowa State Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year recipients. For the second year in a row, Iowa State had more scholar-athlete of the year (four) winners than any other school in the Big 12. Iowa State had six Big 12 Scholar-Athlete winners in the inaugural season of the award last year, including two-time winner Ejim.

More on Women's Basketball
The Team
Head coach Bill Fennelly | Coaching Staff
Roster | Printable Roster | Big 12 Standings

Weekly Release

Hilton Coliseum
Sukup Basketball Practice Facility

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Historical Information
Archives | Encyclopedia | History | Records

Inside Iowa State
Camps | Cyclone Alley | For Recruits
Inside WBB Video | Recruiting Questionnaire
Video Library

South End Zone webcam
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Cy's Pets of the Week
2:00 Timeout
U.S. Cellular Text the Coach
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song