Tim Floyd's short reign over Iowa State men's basketball proved to be one of the most prosperous periods in school history (1995-98). In his first three seasons (1995-97), Floyd led the Cyclones to three consecutive 20-win seasons and three-straight NCAA Championship appearances. His 1996 team won the final Big Eight tournament title with an upset against No. 5 Kansas in the championship game and his 1997 squad advanced to the Sweet Sixteen of the NCAA Tournament.

- Only Cyclone coach in school history to record three-straight NCAA Tournament appearances (1995, 1996, 1997).
- Compiled an 81-47 record, the best winning percentage (63.3 pct.) in Iowa State history.
- Owns a school-record four NCAA Tournament victories.
- 1996 team finished second in the Big Eight (9-5) and claimed the final Big Eight Tournament title.
- 1997 team tied for third in the Big 12 (10-6) and advanced to the Sweet Sixteen of the NCAA Tournament.
- 1996 Big Eight Coach of the Year, USBWA & NABC District Coach of the Year and AP's National Coach of the Year Runner-Up.
- 1997 team earned the second-highest national ranking in school history at No. 4.
- Coached six Cyclones who went onto NBA careers.