Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Efkamp Leads Cyclones at Jim Duncan Invitational

Release: 04/13/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

DES MOINES, Iowa- Nick Efkamp raced to victory in the 400-meter dash to lead Iowa State on the second day of the Jim Duncan Invitational Saturday in Drake Stadium.  Efkamp’s time of 46.68 set a meet record.

Mark Johnson earned third place in the long jump with a jump of 22-08.00.

Iowa State's Zach Richards finished second in the hammer throw with a toss of 195-01.

Edwin Serem led a group of Cyclones in the 1,500-meter run, earning first place in the event in a time of 3:53.54.  

Ethan Wilkins earned second place in the 110-meter hurdles in a time of 14.66, while Troy Walls finished third in 14.87.

Alec Baldwin and Mohamed Hrezi tied for second place in the 800-meter run in a time of 1:52.68.

Ivan Tamba won the 200-meter dash in a time of 22.02.

The Cyclone women were led by Kelly McCoy in the high jump.  McCoy earned first place in the event with a mark of 5-05.00.

Hayli Bozarth finished second in the hammer throw with a toss of 191-00. 

Maggie Gannon earned second place in the 1,500-meter run in a time of 4:38.60.

Four different women earned top ton finishes in the 400-meter dash. Ese Okoro was second, Kendra White third, Dana Christensen fourth and Jessica Nichols sixth. 

White earned second place in the 200-meter dash with a time of 24.90.

The Cyclones will resume action Thursday at the Mt. Sac Relays in Walnut, Calif.  Some members of the team will travel to Bryan Clay Invitational on Friday and others will go to the Beach Invitational starting Saturday.  Results will be posted on at the conclusion of each meet.

Iowa State Results:


 Discus throw: 1) Jordan Williams, Northern Iowa, 176-04; 6) Henry Kelley, IOWA STATE, 150-11; 15) Nick Kleppe, IOWA STATE, 137-11.

Long jump: 1) Eric Bertelsen, Kyle Rosseau, 23-00.50; 3) Mark Johnson, IOWA STATE, 22-08.00; 5) Ethan Wilkins, IOWA STATE, 21-10.00.

Pole vault: 1) Thomas Jean, Illinois State, 15-07.00; Taylor Sanderson, IOWA STATE, 12-07.50.

Hammer throw: 1) Mitchell Heady, Lindenwood U, 196-01; 2) Zach Richards, IOWA STATE, 195-01; 14) Henry Kelley, IOWA STATE, 151-05.

1,500-meter run: 1) Edwin Serem, IOWA STATE, 3:53.54; 5) Nick Schulze, IOWA STATE, 3:58.24; 6) Abdoulaye Seye, IOWA STATE, 3:59.81; 8) Chris Alvarez, UNATTACHED, 4:01.34; 14) Besu Shannon-Tamrat, IOWA STATE, 4:07.83.

110-meter hurdles: 1) Sebastian Barth, Northern Iowa, 14.11; 2) Ethan Wilkins, IOWA STATE, 14.66; 3) Troy Walls, IOWA STATE, 14.87

400-meter dash: 1) Nick Efkamp, IOWA STATE, 46.68; 6) Greg Kufahl, IOWA STATE, 49.55; 7) Ivan Tamba, IOWA STATE, 49.61; 12) Jacob Hoogensen, IOWA STATE, 50.10; 14) Russell Acton, IOWA STATE, 50.33; 15) Ethan Wilkins, IOWA STATE, 50.36; 19) Matt Harmeyer, IOWA STATE, 51.22.

100-meter dash: 1) Dominque Hubert, Unnattached, 10.91; 21) Matt Harmeyer, IOWA STATE, 11.93.

800-meter run: 1) Matthew Schaefer, Truman State, 1:52.19; T2) Alec Baldwin, IOWA STATE, 1:52.68; T2) Mohamed Hrezi, IOWA STATE, 1:52.68; 4) Edwin Serem, IOWA STATE, 1:52.80; 6) Brandon Barnes, IOWA STATE, 1:53.71; 15) Alex Dillenbeck, IOWA STATE, 1:56.58.

400-meter hurdles: 1) LaRon Bennet, Unnattached, 51.54; 18) Cole Chesnut, IOWA STATE, 57.93.

200-meter dash: 1) Ivan Tamba IOWA STATE, 22.02; 7) Russell Acton, IOWA STATE, 22.47; 12) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 22.76.


 Javelin throw: 1) Jenna Higgins, Mount Mercy, 170-04; 6) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 114-09; 12) Anna Holtermann, IOWA STATE, 81-10; 13) Kaci Storm, IOWA STATE, 64-08.

Shot put: 1) Brittany Smith, Illinois State, 52-03.75; 16) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 34-00.00.

High jump: 1) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 5-05.00; 4) Hannah Willms, IOWA STATE, 5-03.00; 5) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 5-03.00; 7) Karly Groon, IOWA STATE, 5-01.00.

Hammer throw: 1) Brittany Smith, Illinois State, 201-06; 2) Hayli Bozarth, IOWA STATE, 191-00; 3) Laishema Hampton, IOWA STATE, 177-02; 5) Danielle Frere, IOWA STATE, 164-02 8) Kayla Sanborn, IOWA STATE, 149-05.

1,500-meter run: 1) Kristen Zillmer, Illinois State, 4:32.70; 2) Maggie Gannon, IOWA STATE, 4:38.60; 4) Perez Rotich, IOWA STATE, 4:41.60.

100-meter hurdles: 1) Sarah Yeager, Drake, 13.86; 4) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 14.68; 9) Kaci Storm, IOWA STATE, 14.87; 12) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 15.26; 17) Anna Holtermann, IOWA STATE, 15.77.

400-meter dash: 1) Sade Sealy, Illinois State, 54.00; 2) Ese Okoro, IOWA STATE, 54.83; 3) Kendra White, IOWA STATE, 55.00; 4) Dana Christensen, IOWA STATE, 56.04; 6) Jessica Nichols, IOWA STATE, 56.64; 11) Hannah Willms, IOWA STATE, 58.48.

800-meter run: 1) Kristen Zillmer, Illinois State, 2:09.99; 10) Emily Meese, IOWA STATE, 2:16.87.

400-meter hurdles: 1) Paige Knodle, Northern Iowa, 59.75; 3) Krista Shoeman, IOWA STATE, 1:01.62.

200-meter dash: 1) Shandel Ellis, Illinois State, 24.81; 2) Kendra White, IOWA STATE, 24.90; 7) Jessica Nichols, IOWA STATE, 25.48; 15) Dana Christensen, IOWA STATE, 26.32; 18) Kaci Storm, IOWA STATE, 26.54; 22) Hannah Willms, IOWA STATE, 26.88; 25) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 27.41.

Other Links
Composite Schedule
Cyclone Club
Cy's Locker Room
Jr. Cyclone Club
Live Events Schedule
Photo Store
Ticket Office

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song