Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Cyclone Distance Medley Fourth at Drake Relays

Release: 04/26/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

DES MOINES, Iowa -- Iowa State's men's distance medley ran to a fourth-place finish Friday at the Drake Relays in Drake Stadium. UTEP won the race in 9:44.73. The Cyclone quartet of Jacob Aune, Mohamed Hrezi, Nick Efkamp and Alec Baldwin finished in 9:52.28.

Iowa State's Ian Warner’s prelim time of 10.83 against a stiff wind qualified him for the 100-meter final, which is to be run at 2:28 p.m. CDT Saturday.

Four Cyclones captured titles at the Kip Janvrin Open on Friday in Indianola. Bethany Olson won the 3,000-meter steeplechase, both Samantha Bluske and Chris Alvarez earned first in the 1,500-meter run and Jessica Nichols finished won the 200-meter dash.

Bethany Olson’s time of 11:12.67 in the 3,000-meter steeplechase shattered her previous personal best time of 11:27.50. Sydney Lesko earned second place in th the event with a time of 11:19.67.  Erin Valenti also ran a personal best time of 11:31.97 in the race.

Samantha Bluske was the other Cyclone woman to win her race.  Bluske finished her first 1,500-meter run of the season with a personal best time of 4:29.69. Two Iowa State runners also claimed top-five finishes in the race with Katy Moen coming in fourth and Perez Rotich earning fifth.

Chris Alvarez led an Iowa State group that handled the competition in the 1,500-meter run.  Alvarez earned first in the race with a personal best time of 3:55.64.

Cullen Wannarka earned third place in the race and Abdou Seye came in fifth with a personal best time of 3:58.60.

Results will be posted on at the conclusion of the Drake Relays on Saturday.


Kip Janvrin Open Results

200-meter dash: 
1) Jessica Nichols, IOWA STATE, 25.16.

800-meter run: 1) Rebecca Zaiter, UIC, 2:12.44; 3) Emily Meese, IOWA STATE, 2:15.89.

1,500-meter run: 1) Samantha Bluske, IOWA STATE, 4:29.69; 4) Katy Moen, IOWA STATE, 4:36.14; 5) Perez Rotich, IOWA STATE, 4:36.73; 9) Andrea Toppin, IOWA STATE, 4:42.75.

3,000-meter steeplechase: 1) Bethany Olson, IOWA STATE, 11:12.67; 2) Sydney Lesko, IOWA STATE, 11:19.67; 5) Erin Valenti, IOWA STATE, 11:31.97.

Triple jump: 1) Kenna Wolter, Unattached, 41-06.50; 8) Chelsea Jordan, IOWA STATE, 36-01.25.

High jump: 1) Kathie-Lee Laidley, Nebraska-Omaha, 5-07.75; 4) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 5-01.75; 8) Karly Groon, IOWA STATE, 5-01.75.

Long jump: 1) Sami Spenner, Nebraska-Omaha, 19-11.00; 2) Chelsea Jordan, IOWA STATE, 18-00.50.

Shot put: 1) Jamie Lindstrom, Northern Iowa, 46-09.00; 6) Ashley Thooft, IOWA STATE, 42-09.75


110-meter hurdles: 
1) Luke Hauert, Northern State, 14.17; 9) Brandon Moorman, IOWA STATE, 14.90; 16) Matt Harmeyer, IOWA STATE, 15.97.

200-meter dash: 1) Gabriel Green, William Penn, 21.79; 10) Jacob Hoogenson, IOWA STATE, 23.06

400-meter dash: 1) Eli Smith, NW Missouri, 48.13; 4) Russell Acton, IOWA STATE, 49.59; 16) Jacob Hoogenson, IOWA STATE, 51.17.

400-meter hurdles: 1) Mike Reynoso, Lindenwood, 54.41; 4) Cole Chesnut, IOWA STATE, 56.41.

800-meter run: 1) Kole Seiler, North Dakota, 1:55.07; 7) Brandon Barnes, IOWA STATE, 1:56.87; 27) Chris Alvarez, IOWA STATE, 2:00.44.

1,500-meter run: 1) Chris Alvarez, IOWA STATE, 3:55.64; 3) Cullen Wannarka, 3:57.47; 4) Abdou Seye, IOWA STATE, 3:58.60

3,000-meter steeplechase: 1) Mitch Kraft, Black Hills State, 9:22.73; 2) Brian Llamas, IOWA STATE, 9:32.57; 6) Caleb Abfall, IOWA STATE, 9:43.07; 16) Nick Schulze, IOWA STATE, 10:05.51.

5,000-meter run: 1) John Klecker, Augustana, 14:47.91; 5) Nick Jackoksy, IOWA STATE, 14:58.84; 6) Tyler Jermann, IOWA STATE, 14:59.25; 7) Martin Coolidge, IOWA STATE, 15:00.70.

Long jump: 1) Weston Riesselman, Northern Iowa, 23-03.75; 7) Mark Johnson, IOWA STATE, 22-05; 23) Matt Harmeyer, IOWA STATE, 18-09.75

Shot put: Brandt Berghuis, North Dakota State, 54-08; 19) Matt Harmeyer, IOWA STATE, 32-10.25.

High jump: 1) Xavier McAllester, Iowa Central, 6-08.75; 9) Jordan Cress, IOWA STATE, 6-04.75; 10) Nick Lucs, IOWA STATE, 6-04.75.

Pole vault: 1) Edgar Garza, Lindenwood, 15-09.00; 6) Taylor Sanderson, IOWA STATE, 12-10.25.


Drake Relays Results:

110-meter hurdles prelim:
1) Greggmar Swift, Indiana State, 14.18; 19) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 14.97.

DMR: 1) Texas El-Paso, 9:44.73; 4) IOWA STATE, 9:52.28.

100-meter dash prelims: 1) Isiah Young, Mississippi, 10.43; 3) Ian Warner, IOWA STATE, 10.83.

Other Links
Composite Schedule
Cyclone Club
Cy's Locker Room
Jr. Cyclone Club
Live Events Schedule
Photo Store
Ticket Office

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song