Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

George Earns Pete Taylor MVP Award at Banquet

Release: 12/15/2013
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State football team held its annual awards banquet Sunday afternoon, as head coach Paul Rhoads handed out this season’s honors to the members of the team.

Senior linebacker Jeremiah George was a big winner, picking up the Pete Taylor Award as the team’s most valuable player and the Al and Dean Knudson Award for the team’s top defensive skill player.

The first-team All-Big 12 linebacker led the Big 12 in tackles (11.1), becoming just the third Cyclone in Big 12 history to lead the league in tackles (Alvin Bowen in 2006; Jesse Smith in 2009). George led the Cyclones in tackles (133), tackles for loss (12.0), sacks (3.5), forced fumbles (3) and interceptions (2).

Sophomore wide receiver Quenton Bundrage took home the Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player Award. Bundrage had a breakout year for the Cyclones, leading the team in catches (48), receiving yards (676) and touchdowns (9). His nine TD grabs tied an ISU single-season school record.

The Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomer Award went to junior tight end E.J. Bibbs. Bibbs emerged as one of the best tight ends in the league, ranking second in the Big 12 for catches by a tight end with 39. The Second-Team All-Big 12 recipient was the only Cyclone to have multiple catches in all 12 games.

Juniors Cory Morrissey and Tom Farniok were awarded ISU’s top defensive and offensive lineman, respectively. Morrissey led all ISU down linemen in tackles with 52 and was second on the team in tackles for loss (6.5). Farniok will enter his senior season with the most starts (35) of any current player on the team.

2013 Iowa State Football Awards
Pete Taylor Team Most Valuable Player: Jeremiah George
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Justin Madison
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Nick Severs
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Matt Bannon
Academic Award: Grant Rohach
Ennis Haywood Consideration Award: Gage Shaeffer
Ruben J. Miller Award: Kirby Van Der Kamp
Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomer: E.J. Bibbs
Outstanding Walk-On Player: Wes Boyer
Bill Dailey Unsung Hero Award: Ethan Tuftee
Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player: Quenton Bundrage
Al and Dean Knudson Outstanding Defensive Skill Player: Jeremiah George
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Cory Morrissey
Arthur Floyd Scott Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Tom Farniok
Jim Doran Outstanding Special Teams Player: Levi Peters
Ralph Aulmann Memorial Captain Award: Jeremiah George, James White, Jacques Washington, Kirby Van Der Kamp, Ernst Brun, Jeff Woody

Other Links
Composite Schedule
Cyclone Club
Cy's Locker Room
Jr. Cyclone Club
Live Events Schedule
Photo Store
Ticket Office

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song