Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Cyclone 800m Runners Showcased In Classic Finale

Release: 02/15/2014
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State men’s and women’s track and field teams wrapped up competition at the ISU Classic with a bang, as senior middle-distance runner Ejiro Okoro ran the fastest indoor 800m in program history and Edward Kemboi posted the fastest 800m time in the nation.

Kemboi shattered his own program record (1:47.43), breaking the tape in 1:45.98 and reclaiming the top spot in the nation with the performance. The Eldoret, Kenya, native bided his time over the first 500 meters, running in the middle of the pack, but turned it on with a lap to go. Kemboi passed everyone in the field, defeating three runners currently ranked in the nation’s top 10. Kemboi’s mark is also good for the world’s seventh-fastest 800m time this season. The Cyclone junior was just one hundredth of a second off the ISU Classic and Harry Hoak Track record held by SMU’s Roman Orvec (1:45.97), set in 1999. Kemboi's time is the seventh-fastest in NCAA history and is the fastest time run in 13 years.

Okoro is the new Iowa State indoor record holder in the 800-meter run after a 2:03.91 performance, breaking Iowa State hall of famer Edith Nakiyingi’s mark of 2:04.84 set back in 1991. The Birmingham, England, native used a strong final 400m to pass several opponents and notch the record. The time is 1.53 seconds faster than her previous best (2:05.44) and is currently the third-fastest time in the nation this season. Okoro was the first collegiate athlete to cross the line.

The men’s mile produced one of the nation’s best fields this weekend. It included seven individuals that posted sub-4 minute marks in the competition as Villanova’s Jordan Williamsz took the title in 3:56.84. The field featured some of the nation’s best talent at both the collegiate and professional levels. Williamsz time is a new ISU Classic and Harry Hoak Track record, breaking the previous mark held by Arkansas’ Said Ahmed (3:57.04, 2005). With the time, Williamsz is now ranked second nationally. Former Iowa State director of track and field and cross country Martin Smith pupil Riley Masters finished fifth in 3:58.35.

Kendra White now holds the two fastest 400m times in program history after a 54.29-second performance in today’s race. White finished xth overall in the event. White was also on the women's 4x400m relay squad that notched the second-fastest time in program history. The team of White, Ese Okoro, Ejiro Okoro and Krista Shoeman crossed the line in 3:39.25 for second place.

Cameron Ostrowski took home the men’s high jump title with a top height of 7’00.50” (2.15m). The Burlington, Ill., native cleared the bar on his second attempt, and the mark is his second-best of the season.

Cyclone shot putter Jan Jeuschede equaled a career best in the shot put with a throw of 60’3”. The Rosrath, Germany native threw the mark on his first attempt en route to his third victory of the season.

Senior hurdler Ryan Sander notched a third-place finish in the men’s 60-meter hurdles, with a season-best time of 8.01 seconds. The Cedar Rapids, Iowa, native was just 6 hundredths of a second behind the winner, Dapo Akinmoladun (Nebraska).

Jessica Tebo won the women’s mile run in record time. The Brooks Beasts competitor broke the tape in an ISU Classic meet record of 4:34.73. Iowa State junior Maggie Gannon finished 12th overall in 4:50.04. The Burlington, Ill., native moved up throughout the race en route to her second-fastest time of the year.

Cyclone PR’s
*Edward Kemboi (800m): 1:45.96
*Ejiro Okoro (800m): 2:03.91
*Bethanie Brown (3,000m): 9:25.01
*Perez Rotich (3,000m): 9:35.30
*Taylor McDowell (3,000m): 10:02.29
*Mohamed Hrezi (3,000m): 8:09.05
*Brian Llamas (3,000m): 8:10.90
*Derek Jones (400m): 48.78
*Jacob Hoogensen (400m): 49.70
*Kaci Storm (400m): 59.97
*Jan Jeuschede (shot put): 60’3”

Women’s Results
400m: 1) Sade Sealy, Unattached, 54.24; 2) Kendra White, Iowa State, 54.29; 6) Ese Okoro, Iowa State, 54.82; Krista Shoeman, Iowa State, 57.28; Dana Christensen, Iowa State, 57.14; Britney Williams, Iowa State, 57.77; Emily Toennies, Iowa State, 58.55; Kaci Storm, Iowa State, 59.97
800m: 1) Phoebe Wright, NIKE, 2:03.39; 3) Ejiro Okoro, Iowa State, 2:03.91
1,000m: Maryn Lowry, Iowa State, 2:56.34; Heidi Engelhardt, Iowa State, 3:00.76
Mile: 1) Jessica Tebo, Brooks Beasts, 4:34.73, Maggie Gannon, Iowa State, 4:50.04
3,000m: 1) Stephanie Garcia, Furman Elite, 9:11.68; 7) Bethanie Brown, Iowa State, 9:25.01; Taylor McDowell, Iowa State, 10:02.29; Bethany Olson, Iowa State, 10:25.00
4x400m: 1) North Dakota State, 3:37.42; 2) Iowa State 'A', 3:39.25; 12) Iowa State 'B', 3:53.62

Men’s Results
60m-h: 1) Dapo Akinmoladun, Nebraska, 7.95; 3) Ryan Sander, Iowa State, 8.01
400m: 1) Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida, 46.60; Derek Jones, Iowa State, 48.78; Kris Brander, Iowa State, 49.14; Trey Achterhoff, Iowa State, 49.55; Jacob Hoogenson, Iowa State, 49.70
800m: 1) Edward Kemboi, Iowa State, 1:45.96; 26) Jacob Aune, Iowa State, 1:53.02
3,000m: 1) Adam Visokay, Virginia, 7:57.46; 6) Mohamed Hrezi, Iowa State, 8:09.05; 9) Brian Llamas, Iowa State, 8:10.90; 19) Tyler Jermann, Iowa State, 8:31.28; 21) Steve Dado, Iowa State, 8:36.57
High Jump: 1) Cameron Ostrowski, Iowa State, 7’00.50”
Shot Put: 1) Jan Jeuschede, Iowa State, 60’3”; 16) Scott Schilb, Iowa State, 50’7.25”
Triple Jump: 1) Golden Cordairo, MTSU, 51’01.75”; 3) Kevin Poster, Iowa State, 48’00.75”

Other Links
Composite Schedule
Cyclone Club
Cy's Locker Room
Jr. Cyclone Club
Live Events Schedule
Photo Store
Ticket Office

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song