Jack Trice Stadium Expansion Project
Football Gameday Social Experience
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Scholar Banquet Recognizes Cyclones

Courtesy: cyclones.com
Release: 05/01/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links
More from Cyclones.tv

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State Student-Athlete Affairs department honored 143 student-athletes from the Cyclones’ 18 sports Monday at the Iowa State Scholar-Athlete Banquet in Hilton Coliseum.

Student-Athlete Affairs honored five individuals who earned 4.0 grade point averages, Anna Holtermann (women’s track and field), Martin Coolidge (men’s cross country), Megan Longobardi (soccer), Jessica Stewart (soccer) and Jared Weaver (football). Also recognized for the highest GPA in their respective sports were Elly Arganbright (women’s basketball), Meghan Cassens (tennis), Connor Clarke (wrestling), Jennifer Drahozal (softball), Melvin Ejim (men’s basketball), Collin Foster (men’s golf), Gregory Kufahl (men’s track and field), Taylor Petersen (women’s cross country), Michelle Shealy (gymnastics), Jamie Straube (volleyball), Prima Thammaraks (women’s golf) and Imelda Wistey (swimming and diving).

“At the scholar-athlete banquet we honor not just the wide scope of success our student-athlete achieve in the classroom, we recognize the difference our athletes make on campus and in the community on a continuous basis. Tonight we also honored coaches and individuals who have made a difference on behalf of our athletes,” Iowa State Coordinator of Student-Athlete Affairs Molly Parrott said.

Iowa State’s soccer squad was recognized as the Cyclone Service team for its work in the community, while the men’s golf team and the women’s cross country were honored for posting the top team grade point averages for the 2012-2013 season.

The legacy of Iowa State journalism professor Barbara Mack was honored. Mack passed away in August. Her contributions were celebrated by naming her the 2013 recipient of the Norm Boyles Award which goes annually to a faculty member who has made a sustained contribution to the welfare of Iowa State student-athletes.

The SAAC Above and Beyond award went to athletics director Jamie Pollard as a staff member who provides exemplary support to Iowa State student-athletes.

Twenty-eight student-athletes were recognized as members of the Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Society whose members are upper-class student-athletes maintaining a 3.40 or higher cumulative GPA into their junior year.

The Iowa State Letterwinners Club recognized four-time All-American cross country and track and field standout distance runner Meaghan Nelson and two-time All-Big 12 First-Team linebacker Jake Knott as recipients of the All-Around Award. The award is presented to one male and one female Cyclone student-athlete in recognition of significant athletic contribution, academic excellence, leadership and participation in community service throughout their respective careers at Iowa State.

Jamie Straube and Charlie Paul were honored as Iowa State’s nominees for the Big 12 Conference’s Dr. Prentice Gautt Scholarship.

Other Links
Composite Schedule
Cyclone Club
Cy's Locker Room
Jr. Cyclone Club
Live Events Schedule
Photo Store
Ticket Office

South End Zone webcam
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
Cy's Pets of the Week
2:00 Timeout
U.S. Cellular Text the Coach
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song