Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

ISU Women Capture Fourth Straight Regional Title

Release: 11/15/2013
Print RSS

AMES, Iowa - The Iowa State women’s cross country team captured their fourth-consecutive regional title today at the 2013 NCAA Division I Midwest Regional. The Cyclones placed five runners in the top-15 en route to scoring just 39 team points.

The women became the first team in Midwest Regional Championship history (since 1997) to win four-consecutive titles.

The Cyclones were led again by sophomore Crystal Nelson. Nelson notched her fourth-straight top-10 finish, winning the 6-kilometer race in 20 minutes and 12 seconds.

Freshman Bethanie Brown was the second Cyclone to cross the line, placing third in 20:24. Perez Rotich (10th), Katy Moen (12th) and Samantha Bluske (13th) also scored for Iowa State, finishing in 20:40, 20:46 and 20:48, respectively.

Bluske continued her road back with an impressive performance today in just her second race of the season. The team co-captain was sidelined for the majority of the season with a stress fracture.

All five scoring runners for the Cyclones earned All-Region accolades.

Iowa State women’s cross country head coach Andrea Grove-McDonough was glad her team came in with the right attitude, despite being favored coming into the race.

“I knew Minnesota would run well. They are nationally a top-20 team and did well in their Big Ten meet, which you can’t take too lightly,” Grove-McDonough said. “I was happy with how our girls handled themselves in the race today.”

Grove-McDonough also noted that the women felt a little more adrenaline than usual, running in front of their home crowd.

“I think some the girls got a little excited because they were at home.” Grove-McDonough said. "They really wanted to show everyone what they’ve got in front of their fans.”

Team Results
1. Iowa State - 39 pts
2. Minnesota - 59 pts
3. Oklahoma State - 192 pts
4. Southern Illinois - 217 pts
5. Kansas - 218 pts

Individual Results
1. Crystal Nelson, IOWA STATE - 20:12; 3. Bethanie Brown, IOWA STATE - 20:24; 10. Perez Rotich, IOWA STATE - 20:40; 12. Katy Moen, IOWA STATE - 20:46; 13. Samantha Bluske, IOWA STATE - 20:48; 54. Ejiro Okoro, IOWA STATE - 21:43; 76. Margaret Gannon, IOWA STATE - 21:52

Next Time Out
With the victory, Iowa State advances to the next Saturday's NCAA Championships held in Terre Haute, Ind.


Other Links
Composite Schedule
Cyclone Club
Cy's Locker Room
Jr. Cyclone Club
Live Events Schedule
Photo Store
Ticket Office

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song