Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

Bykowski, Lichtenberg Lead All-Academic Cyclones

Release: 11/15/2012
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa- Fifteen members of the Iowa State football team have been named to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Conference teams, the league announced Thursday. Two Cyclones made the first team for the third straight season with another five making the first team for the second consecutive year. Five Iowa State players on the second team made it for the second straight season.

Carter Bykowski, a senior marketing major from Eden Prairie, Minn. and Kyle Lichtenberg, an electrical engineering major from Bettendorf, Iowa made the first-team for the third straight season.

Cyclones on the first team for their second straight season are senior defensive back Wes Boyer, a civil engineering major from Cedar Falls; quarterback Brett Bueker, a senior in education from Bettendorf; and linebacker A.J. Klein, a senior kinesiology and health major from Appleton, Wis.

Players joining the first team for the first time are defensive back Walker Woods, a senior accounting major from West Des Moines; running back James White, a junior liberal studies major from Dallas, Texas; and defensive end Nick Kron, a junior mechanical engineering major from Clive. Quarterback Ryan Gent, a senior ag engineering major from Wellman and tight end Vince Ewald, a senior business administration major from Taylor Ridge, Ill. also made the team for the first time.

Earning second-team recognition is offensive lineman Jacob Gannon, a junior computer science major from Coralville; linebacker Jake Knott, a senior management major from Lees Summit, Miss. and running back Jeff Woody, a senior kinesiology and health major from Pleasant Hill. This is second straight season that Gannon, Knott, and Woody made the second team. Punter Kirby Van Der Kamp, a junior in kinesiology and health from West Des Moines and Matt Van Dyke, a senior kinesiology and health major from West Des Moines made the second team for the first time.

Student athletics get first-team recognition by maintaining a 3.20 or higher GPA. Players  who maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher, either cumulative or the two previous semesters and participate in 60 percent of Cyclones' scheduled contests receive second team recognition. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

More on Football
The Team
Staff | Head coach Matt Campbell
Introducing Matt Campbell
Roster | Weekly Release | Depth Chart
Alphabetical Roster | Numerical Roster
Media Guide | Big 12 Standings

Jack Trice Stadium
Bergstrom Indoor Training Facility

Social Media
Twitter | Facebook

Historical Information
Archives | History | Records

Miscellaneous Links
Camps | For Recruits | Gridiron Club
Walk-On Tryouts | Strength

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song