Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
Article Image
Courtesy: Athletics Communications

2011 Cy's Favorite Alum Honorees: The Geoffroys

Release: 10/20/2011
Print RSS
Related Links
More from

AMES, Iowa - The Iowa State Athletics Department lost one of its greatest supporters when Iowa State University president Dr. Gregory L. Geoffroy stepped away from his post. For 10 years, Geoffroy and his wife, Kathy, have made Ames their home, and made Cyclone Athletics a top priority.

The Geoffroys have been fixtures at countless Iowa State sporting events, donor outings and pep rallies. They attended those events not only as administrators, but also as fans.

This year, the Iowa State Athletics Department recognizes the loyal and outstanding support from the Geoffroys with the 2011 Cy's Favorite Alum award. Since 1955, the Iowa State University Athletics Department has recognized the loyalty and accomplishments of a graduate or friend of Cyclone Athletics.

The athletics department has literally grown leaps and bounds during Geoffroy's tenure as president. Attendance figures have skyrocketed, the operational budget nearly doubled and new facilities have sprouted everywhere. Without Geoffroy's backing, beautiful additions to the Cyclone Athletics landscape, like the Bergstrom Indoor Facility, the Hixson-Lied Academic Center and the Sukup Basketball Complex, wouldn't have come to fruition. 

Behind the scenes, Geoffroy was just as influential. He always made time to meet with recruits during their campus visits and routinely aided Iowa State Athletics Director Jamie Pollard on a variety of initiatives.

Thank you, President Geoffroy!

Cyclone Administrators/Coaches Speak Out On Geoffroy

Iowa State Athletics Director Jamie Pollard:
"Dr. Geoffroy's support of the athletics department has been instrumental to the progress we have made the last six years. Greg's legacy, from an athletics department perspective, is that he has been an engaged and enthusiastic leader, who helped spearhead several significant projects and played a critical role in keeping the Big 12 Conference together."

Iowa State Football Coach Paul Rhoads:
"From day one, it has been obvious to me that Dr. Geoffroy was committed to the success of our football program. I have always admired Dr. Geoffroy's ability to pick the right people and allow them to do their job while giving them the appropriate guidance."

Iowa State Women's Basketball Coach Bill Fennelly:
"Dr. Geoffroy and Kathy have been our No. 1 fans for many years. Their emotional attachment to our program is something we cherish. The commitment by Dr. Geoffroy has allowed us to build truly one of the more special programs in the country."


Cy's Favorite Alum Honorees  
1955 Orville Crowley Des Moines
1956 Waldo Wegner Ames
1957 Charles Shirey Waterloo
1958 Harry Hoak Des Moines
        J.D. Armstrong Ames
1959 Carl Bluedorn Waterloo
1960 H.R. Hilstrom Sycamore, Ill.
1961 Leo Fitzpatrick Carroll
1962 Ralph Olsen Ellsworth
1963 Dr. Russell Anthony Cedar Rapids
1964 Ted Aulmann Des Moines
1965 Clair G. Mason Marshalltown
1966 Don Kaser Des Moines
1967 George Henningsen Des Moines
1968 Lloyd Bock Des Moines
1969 Al Hagen Des Moines
1970 H.D. Wilson Sioux City
1971 Ray Donels Ames
1972 Ray Hagie Clarion
1973 Sam Hamilton Chicago, Ill.
1974 Dean Knudson Ames
1975 John Ruan Des Moines
1976 Robert Wright Carroll
1977 Herman Holmes Newton
1978 James Hilton Ames
1979 Carroll Lane Carroll
1980 Walter Neumann Des Moines
1981 Deane Gunderson Rolfe
1982 Raymond Engel Marshalltown
1983 Ralph Engel Des Moines
1984 Dorothy Erskine Ames
1985 Robert Parks Ames
1986 Richard Grant Sanibel, Fla.
1987 Robert Eddy Des Moines
1988 Bernard Simmons Waterloo
1989 Lydia Adams Ames
1990 Dr. William Bliss Ames
1991 Isaiah Harris Plymouth, Minn.
1992 Mal Schmidt Ames
1993 Kathryn Engel Marshalltown
1994 Rich Severson Ames
1995 Dr. Jon Fleming Ames
1996 Erb & Marge Hunziker Ames
1997 Jack & Dilla Cosgrove Cedar Rapids
1998 Barb Houk Ames
1999 Al & Sara Sorensen Cedar Rapids
2000 Stewart Burger Ames
2001 Dick & Jane Seagrave Ames
2002 Rod & Connie French Des Moines
2003 Dick & Sandy Horton Ames
2004 Cecil & Dorothy Rueter Grand Junction
2005 Jerry & Nancy Hall Ames
2006 Don Voelker Ames
2007 Bill & Judy Hoefle Ames
2008 Mike & Karon Lacey Elkhart
2009 Richard & Deborah McConnell Johnston
2010 Dick & Marijo Marshall Griswold
2011 Gregory & Kathy Geoffroy Ames

Other Links
Composite Schedule
Cyclone Club
Cy's Locker Room
Jr. Cyclone Club
Live Events Schedule
Photo Store
Ticket Office

Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song