Pin Us
Like Us
Follow Us
spacer   My Account for spacer

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State softball players earned five spots on the Academic All-Big 12 teams, the league office announced Thursday. Four student-athletes were named to the first team and three players are repeat honorees.

For the second consecutive year, Sara Davison and Erica Miller were selected to the first team and were joined by first-time selections Jorden Spendlove and Taylor Smith. To be chosen to the first academic team, a student-athlete must maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.20.

Tori Torrescano earned her third overall academic honor and her second selection to the second team. Second team members must maintain a GPA of 3.00.

All student-athletes who earn academic honors have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Baylor led all Big 12 schools with 10 academic nods.

Iowa State (21-31, 4-11 Big 12) closes its regular season this weekend, hosting Kansas at the Cyclone Sports Complex. Friday’s series opener is set for 4 p.m. CDT.

Returning Customers users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.
Strategic Plan
Cyclone Connections
Cyclone Sidebar
Farm Strong Slider
Cyclone Spotlight
2:00 Timeout
U.S. Cellular Text the Coach
Sweet Caroline
Fight Song